IPCop Firewall Icon

Linux firewall distribution geared towards home and SOHO users.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
67
1
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for developing, maintaining and improving an excellent FOSS product. I, like many others, really appreciate it and the effort that goes into it. I've been using IPCop, initially version 1, later 2 and now 2.1.19) for years to drive a small domestic/SOHO firewall/router and throughout the time it's worked reliably and well. The hardware is an old VIA ITX board with 512 MB, a PATA-attached 4GB Compact Flash, and an Intel quad-port PCI NIC. Even when under heavy use the hardware runs IPCop without breaking sweat and consumes negligible power to do so. (i.e. it barely shows up on the hose smart-meter.) The ITX board has a built-in VIA Samuel 2 CentaurHauls CPU that cannot run Pentium code so I very much appreciate the fact that IPCop is built to run on pre-Pentium CPUs. The web GUI is a little opaque at first but that lessens with use and the recent changes to it have improved matters. Begin able to SSH in to the box helps as well, especially as once shelled in it's standard Linux and hence familiar territory. I like the out of the box provision of orange and blue sub-nets in addition to the basic red and green. I installed the 'extra interfaces' plug-in to obtain an additional grey interface (on V2.1), which installed painlessly and has worked well. Overall, IPCop has been an excellent platform. Thanks again. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 02/16/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the great software!

    Posted 12/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelente Distro.

    Posted 11/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It does what it promises. With a basic understanding of how networks are designed, installation is relatively painless. The online documentation is outstanding -- clear and comprehensive. Not every single bell and whistle is incorporated into the project, but there are a few easy to understand reasons for this (potentially less secure, more complicated management, limited resources, etc). In other words, IPCop seems, to an extent, to adhere to the "KISS" principle -- and the resulting product works quite well.

    Posted 06/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    there is no option to return to the previous version 2.0.6, because in the version 2.1.1 the proxy server does not work! consumes all the ram and cpu active when the proxy server, works for a while then when it handles multiple connections and hangs! and no access to any site.

    Posted 02/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Top notch firewall. I am using an HP thin client computer I picked up on EBay for 25 dollars. Replaced the installed MOD with 6GB unit and replaced the 512MB ram with a 1GB unit. Running Copfilter with anti spam and anti virus. Have not turned on the other Copfilter options yet- I want to run another month or so to make sure I don't have any internet access problems.

    Posted 02/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was in a major bind, I had to QUICKLY integrate two commercial medium to small networks, with virtual no budget at the time. IPCOP segmented my networks for me and allowed me to drill down and establish a protocol rule base. It sat on cheap hardware and was extremely stable and easy to use. VERY VERY good software!

    Posted 11/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Ipcop, it's excellent!

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ipcop works great.

    Posted 06/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Ipcop, it's perfect!

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, easy, flexible, and free. What more could you want?

    Posted 05/02/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    terrific program

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WOW!!! Thanks, thats really great

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice project! Thanks a lot!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    +1 thanks!

    Posted 04/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I remember when I was actively using this program, it was very functional and had no alternatives

    Posted 04/02/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent program for monitoring your Internet connections, it is very informative interface

    Posted 02/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    firewal is the part of computer

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable, full of great features and lightweight. This software is highly recommended!

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best!

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Their is an option for green and blue interfaces. Green being the internal network and blue being the wireless.

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    merci beaucoup

    Posted 11/10/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks