IPCop Firewall Icon

Linux firewall distribution geared towards home and SOHO users.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
67
1
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great, thank you!

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This version is even better, that the previous ones. Great work, that saves you a lot of time, thanks!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i about IPCop Firewall on a forum.. it works well

    Posted 10/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a good piece of software, but unfortunately will not install in newer systems. My old system is near death, forcing me to look for alternative firewalls

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Are there any updates coming?

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thumbs up!!!

    Posted 10/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good protection for your IP.

    Posted 09/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Very beautiful and functional interface!

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good firewall solution for small usage!

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Moved up to IPCop from Smoothwall 2. Built a dedicated computer to act as firewall using an MSI Mini ITX board with an N270 chip. I used this board because 1) No fan 2) already had 2 ethernet jacks 3) low power <20 watts. Works perfectly.

    Posted 08/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love indeed.

    Posted 08/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When setting up a hardware firewall, their are different interfaces. I am setting one up but have an issue with understanding one aspect. Their is an option for green and blue interfaces. Green being the internal network and blue being the wireless. When using the green interface is it possible to use the green interface with a wireless router so it can use both wired and wireless? In this case would i need to strip all DHCP configurations from the router or keep that since ipcop already has that capability?

    Posted 07/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks to Tom's Hardware Guide about Linux based PC routers I've been using IPCop 1.4.10 for a month now and my net connections have been very stable. I was using hacked firmwares for my Linksys WRT54GS router but IPCop does so much more including VPN. I've installed OpenVPN in IPCop and it is working very well. Very pleased with it.

    Posted 07/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    IPCop is a perfect open source firewall for small businesses.

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job!

    Posted 05/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and convenient firewall, which does an excellent job with its responsibilities and do not overload the system!

    Posted 05/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is simply excellent idea

    Posted 04/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Newer seen before so great IPCop Firewall!

    Posted 03/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software.! Thanks for sharing project description.

    Posted 03/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great firewall! All I need in one program! Use on the 3 server based of linux!

    Posted 03/12/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic!

    Posted 03/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb job, thanks for telling

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent job!!

    Posted 03/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using IPcop for the last 3 years and its 100% stable and does a terrific job! I will never be using any other firewall for my ESX servers. Can only recommend others to start using it right away. Thumps up for an amazing job making this awesome software guys! Please make a donation button or something on your website so we can help support you with more than just a thumps up :).

    Posted 02/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used ipcop since it was recommended to me by my uncle who was a unix systems/network administrator. I have loved it from the very beginning. That was over a decade ago! It works 100 percent ALL of the time. At one point I had an uptime on an original P4 with 512MB ram, at nearly six years! Unfortunately, the power supply went bad. It is rock a rock solid distro. I have implemented it in so many customer's homes it is insane. As long as you have a UPS, this thing never has problems. Set it and forget it. On the negative side, with the proxy server enabled, whether transparent or with authentication will prevent you from getting internet speed's over a certain limit. Note: I am using version 1.4 with all updates. It seems that when I initially got a 30x5 cable internet connection, I could only get about 11 or 12mb. I found that the proxy when disabled, lifted the limit. I do not know if this is a common issue or a known limitation, but it didn't bother me. I'm now, right now, going to try out version 2x on a test machine. I am very excited! To sum up, it is a rock solid, quite secure, easy to configure firewall with addons and all of the granularity to perfectly support in particular the SOHO sector. Highly recommended.

    Posted 10/02/2011
Show next 21 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks