Grub2Win Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
13
4
0
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The developer's support is just simply amazing.

    Posted 06/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is to address the false positive virus reports on Grub2Win. There is no virus. The source code is included in the download and can be examined and compiled with the freely available AutoIt compiler. I submitted a false positive report to Symantec, and they have fixed their Norton products so there is no longer a false positive. I don't know about the other virus scan vendors. Software packages like Grub2Win that modify low level system code are often falsely identified as malware.

    Posted 06/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Flagged as a trojan.

    Posted 06/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just installed grub2win with the single click and it works! My motherboard is Z97MPLUS with bios Version 2903 and my OS is Windows 10 Pro. The bios has these settings (they were set long time ago): Secure Boot > Compatibility Support Module > Enabled (this is the default), ... and all the other Secure Boot options are at default values, except for the Secure Boot > Operating system > Other (instead of Windows UEFI). The system is mostly prepared for the Linux installation, as many other tutorials for Ubuntu linux specify. Other installation programs had previously failed: OpenSUSE and EasyBCD - they had no access to EFI hardware. The help in grub2win does not display any contents, just the tree on the left side that contains the titles. The process of usage: install, run, Manage EFI Partition Modules, Reboot to run a test, run again in Windows to Manage EFI Partition Modules and set as the default boot loader. Using AUTO screen resolution setting.

    Posted 05/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Grub2Win is a phenomenal app for those of us that multi-boot our Windows systems. I have been doing that for a very long time using Grub4DOS. But Grub4DOS doesn't support the new EFI system configs without switching the BIOS to Legacy mode. Grub2Win doesn't require that, and supports multi-booting on both BIOS and EFI systems without impacting the ability to boot the native Windows systems. It is easy to implement and easy to remove. It allows me to boot the various ISO downloads that I normally boot from Linux systems to Windows recovery systems. The ISO boots I normally configure manually so there is no limitations on what I can do. And the author is very supportive of requests for help and changes. I don't remember how I happened to find this app but I am very happy that I did.

    Posted 02/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks nice, but needs advanced options for linux, like maual kernel conf, i need bzImage, different root, and no initrd

    Posted 10/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works Great. Running Windows 8.1 on Acer Aspire For Slackware edit grub.cfg and put this in the user-section menuentry 'Slackware' --class Slackware --class icon-linux { set gfxpayload=1024x768 set root='(hd0,7)' linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 initrd /boot/initrd.gz echo Grub is now booting Slackware echo Boot disk address is $root echo The boot mode is Partition Address sleep -v -i 5 } change the 7's to your partition number.

    Posted 10/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It got the job done; however, it doesn't seem to support UEFI, and the UI looks absolutely horrible.

    Posted 06/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great: 1. so much easier than fiddling around with boot.ini 2. something that modifies boot files is very likely to get flagged as a virus... 3. LOVE the retro design - would cost a fortune for UX designers to come up with something like this 4. Ease-of-use - what's complicated about this? easier to use than a lot of apps...

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While unzipping grub2win.zip I get a message from avira "TR/Graftor.142644.68" was found in grub2win.exe. Is that true? What to do? ?? hwsn EDIT: Just testing another download from www.com-magazin.de: the size of the zipped file is now only 4.347kB and it is clean!!!! ***** The first from sourcefourge.net was 4.652kB an hosted the trojan above!! Can we trust on clean files at sourceforge??????

    Posted 11/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nov 26, 2014 turned off antivirus and extracted download, works fine. Still indicates a virus on scan, -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Nov. 14, 2014 More Aha! The McAfee virus software says that grub2win.exe contains the Artemis!80363A7F0FC4 virus and throws the file away. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Oct. 16 The file opens in 7zip but the file grub2win.exe cannot be extracted. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Aha! When you try to download the file without logging in, you get something that is 4,762,282 bytes which does not open in 7Zip. When you log in and download, you get 4,762,894 bytes and it opens happily in 7Zip. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The 2014-09-28 binary is corrupt. It is supposed to be 4.8 MB but arrives as 4.5 MB and does not open in 7zip. I downloaded a previous version which works fine.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no basic usage instruction

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'd like to say that it's a great piece of software but, sadly, can't as it absolutely refused to install on my 256GB SSD C: drive. All I could get out of it was a number of error message boxes saying that various files/directories could not be created. My system is Windows 7 Home Premium, at latest fix level.

    Posted 06/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice!

    Posted 03/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would provide you with my thoughts about grub2win, however unless I get some feedback on my questions in the forum I would not dare to use it; reason: I am too busy and have no time to newly setup my two PCs.

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 02/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stable and works.

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works and fast.

    Posted 12/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 11/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use grub2win

    Posted 09/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome, thank U :)

    Posted 08/30/2012

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks