GnuCash Icon

GnuCash

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (93) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (93)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
74
5
4
2
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Gnucash is the best open source alternative to most of the commercial accounting apps out there. I have been using it for 2 years & except for some getting used to the new way of doing things, I feel that it can beat most of the accounting apps hands down...

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I have been using Quicken for 20 years, but I have always been dissatisfied. Quicken is limited, and they never seem to make progress quickly enough. It seems like they are always working against the user. So I have been following Gnucash for many years, waiting for a time when it might be an acceptable alternative. Unfortunately, Gnucash is not even close to being mature software yet. The documentation is excellent. Very rare to see excellent documentation in a free-software project. However, the software itself (under Windows 8) does not work at all. The stable version 2.4.13 will not even open. I am sitting and looking at the start-up screen now on my computer, which has frozen at the splash screen. Version 2.5.5 (unstable) lives up to its name. Although it gets past the splash screen, it crashes when attempting to save a transaction into PostgreSQL. So, I will continue to monitor this project. Maybe in another 10 years...

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks good. Will test it with my wallet!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Gnucash, it's wonderful!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program.Very easy and simple to use.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I moved to GnuCash from the no-longer-supported Quicken and am very happy with the software. Robust and full-featured. High quality and reliable. Update, 2013-01-07. Ten months using GnuCash and still very much liking it. Currently on 2.4.14 and staying on that for a while yet, resisting the urge to move to the recent 2.6.0 release... I'll give it a month or so to bed-in and make the jump with 2.6.1 or .2.

    Posted 04/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good for financial management

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Helpful and good service! Thank you.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a web rpogrammer and i wanted to build an application like this. Why build it when we have GnuCash?

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull app. I'm using it for over 4 month now. There could be more options of mortgage. Also mobile app should be able to connect to MySQL database. But still great piece of software.

    Posted 02/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome this system

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I loved it. Great works and no problems.

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've just installed can't wait to try - so excited, thank you - it's a long time i thought to build in something like that in my system :)

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is just perfect!

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exec summary: I upgraded both a GnuCash major version and operating system (Windows to Linux) at the same time, and GnuCash worked flawlessly. Respect, GnuCash! Don't try this at home, but if it happens to you, like it did to me, GnuCash will show its quality. Longer version: I have used GnuCash (2.3) on Windows XP for a couple of accounting years now, for a family business. Its support for GST (Australia/NZ's version of VAT) is modest. But I persevered... Recently, part way through closing a year end, I decided to upgrade my computer from Windows XP to Linux Mint. That's a great upgrade- I wish I did it ages ago. Linux Mint is far more usable than any Windows since XP. Hardware just works, performance is great. Anyway, I decided to slim down Windows but leave a bootable Windows as insurance, so I could complete the year-end safely and keep a couple of other apps I wanted to take my time in converting across. Yes of course I backed up. Something I did, Windows didn't like. I still don't know what. Anyway, my carefully-preserved Windows doesn't boot any more. it gets partway through then croaks. So I restored my GnuCash data- backed up on 32-bit Windows, restored to 64-bit Linux. Installed the latest (2.4) GnuCash, Linux version; fired it up and opened my part-done year end data. Instant success. No ifs, buts or gotchas (so far). This is among the easiest migrations I have performed- and that includes migrations where I kept the same application version and just upgraded Windows versions. I work in IT, and it's the best accidental upgrade I have had- ever! The other couple of apps I kept Windows around for- don't care now. Windows is gone. I can still get to the data files on the old Windows partition and in every case, I know what Linux app I will use and how it will use the data files. The worst case was Dragon Naturally Speaking, which now works well in Linux under VirtualBox. GnuCash team, thank you very much! Keep up the outstanding work.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good finance manager, thanks

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project! 10x!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keep your finance history! I've used excel. But at the moment I use this app, Gnucash

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Use it in personal purposes! Like it!

    Posted 09/15/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks