gImageReader Icon

A graphical frontend to tesseract-ocr

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
22
2
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find gImage Reader a practical and stable frontend to Tesseract OCR.Spell checking and editing text works fine for normal purposes where Tesseract OCR nowadays is very accurate.Unusual fonts as Fraktur (in heads of many longstanding newspapers) is supported and the Tesseract engine will (with effort) train any uncommon typography.The gImage frontend is stable and uncomplicated to work with when set up, and the only improvement I can think of is a way to easily close the sources pane for maximizing the head pane when reviewing and editing recognised text.A very useful program, thank you. Edit: glad to find a toggle option for the suggested improvement already exist (I'm slightly visionary impaired).The Tesseract Fraktur "language" I work with is fine but not programmed to trigger the spell checker and the output therefore interpreted with spelling errors / understrikes.This small problem (unrelated to gImageReader) could be solved by a spell checker on/off switch.Thank you again.

    Posted 05/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great tool to do a proof of concept using tesseract.

    Posted 03/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I keep interesting newspaper articles by taking a picture of them with pocket camera and OCR the image. with my 6 year old OCR program which Is no longer available but tp name it here would violate this site's antispam policy. I compared it to gImageReader on March 17, 2016. For my purposes, gImageReader is inferior. It could not handle the fact that the article was in 4 columns. This can easily be remedied by selecting the columns to be recognized one at a time. A photo is however not as clear as a scan. I could easily read this photo and my unnameable program OCR-ed with few errors but gImageReader made quite a bit more.

    Posted 03/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, saved me from professional disaster, thank you!

    Posted 10/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    tested on MS Windows versión, very nice, free and funtional

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    En la version anterior habían problemas, pero el soporte de Sandro fue genial!!! Me ayudó en cada momento, de manera rápida y precisa. Lo instalé en OpenSuse 13.1 y funciona de 10!!! Lo recomiendo, en linux, el mejor programa de este tipo (OCR) que me ha funcionado!

    Posted 12/17/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program works wonderfully! The interface is fairly self-explanatory and it effortlessly and nearly faultlessly translated a 117 page PDF image scan of an out of print book I wanted to get on my Kindle. The only reason I give it four out of five stars is the fact that Norton caught the presence of a virus in the "uninstall" utility of the program. Norton labeled it "Trojan.ADH.X". Not sure why that was put there, and it doesn't inspire much confidence, but Norton caught it -- so please be up to date on your virus protection when you install this download. Other than that it worked perfectly and, as they say, the price was right.

    Posted 10/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My download included trojan adh.x 5:47 Sept.3rd '14

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, simple, great. But one important missing thing is the lack of option to save OCR on pdfs...

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a wonderful piece of software that gets OCR right!

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great tool that work very fine, the most characters are recognized, facility the job!

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very good image editor.

    Posted 12/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program gimagereader.

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gimagereader works perfectly.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very good framework, does what I was looking for. Was going to invent it myself, but stumbled across this and looked no further. Could be polished a little further to minimize the number of drags and clicks required; I've logged corresponding feature requests. I am willing to make the relevant changes myself.

    Posted 08/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good tool for everyone!

    Posted 03/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this project

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Terrific software: I just upgraded to Tesseract 3.0, and was having trouble with it: it was dividing my image into columns for some reason, making a mess of the text output. I couldn't find any command-line switches to control columns. With gimageReader, the OCR just comes out right -- a single column in this case. Still don't know what switches to use, but just now I don't care -- saved my project! Thank you, Sandro. Installation on Ubuntu was a snap: downloaded gimagereader_0.9-1_all.deb and chose Open with Ubuntu Software Center. In the Software Center clicked Install, and I was done. The GUI is straightforward and efficient.

    Posted 02/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    congrats-g for good? where is command line option for batch processing?

    Posted 12/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! Worked 'out of the box' with debian with a large pdf document. The ability to process page ranges is very convenient.

    Posted 11/02/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A GUI for ocr in Linux .. How Nice!

    Posted 08/08/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, simple & functioning application, well done. Of course more features would be cool (format recognition & export in .odf) but congrats for your achievement! Keep it up Ps a PPA on ubuntu might speed up adoption..

    Posted 08/01/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the only function I still have had to use windows for ... Yippee!

    Posted 04/18/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    add the thing that tesseract OCR miss: versatility

    Posted 06/01/2010
Show next review

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks