gerbv — a Gerber (RS-274X) viewer Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
19
1
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gerbv is a best software I can find. It is great that is open source. All is ok only 2 bugs i can find. If in path where you have gerber files are some character (šćč...) return error message and second some DRL file are not in same dimensions as other gerber files. Wish: Do a better measure distance tools. If is possible to do some tools which snap to object (pads) edge to easy measuring.

    Posted 07/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice software, thanks. But now program crashes, when opening files with unicode symbols in path.

    Posted 11/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Allows me to very quickly determine conflicts before sending my files off to a board house. Particularly nice is the check-box layer system on the left which allowed me to find a through hole part going through the middle of a silkscreen image on the bottom of the board. The only cons I could find were that this 2.6.1 viewer doesn't yet understand Excellon 2.5 drill format output by Eagle 7.2. And directory listings on busy directories is a little slow. Eagle 7.2 can be told to output Excellon 2.4 which this 2.6.1 viewer handles properly. This tool is a "keeper" for my design toolbox after spending a day reviewing others.

    Posted 04/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Free Gerber Viewer i've found!

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best of Gerber Viewer ... Fast, lightweight, & portable ... I frequently use it in designing PCB.

    Posted 05/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Contains serious bugs. Position and orientation of layers not saved in the project file. Exported merged file contains components without rotation set. Unusable.

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you SO MUCH to those persons who wrote that wonderful Gerber viewer. It works perfectly. Great job! Such software is so useful that it should have been available a long time ago. (Even not free) I remember there was one under MSDOS, which I forgot the name. If someone knows... Once again thank you for your time, your knowledge and your kindness for offering this. Dominique

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked as expected on first try. Moving layer up and down is great. Opacity for layers is great. (I tried another commercial Gerber viewer (Win32) that after many e-mails I got to work. I finally found my favorite Linux Gerbv already compiled for win32. I was ready to use MinGW and start compiling as I really need a good Gerber viewer) Great program. Thanks guys!

    Posted 02/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, easy to use Gerber, NC Drill, and Pick & Place viewer.

    Posted 01/27/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gerbv works perfectly.

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gerbv works great

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good! With 2.6 version is possible to panelize which is great!!!!

    Posted 04/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is better than all the commecial tools I used before

    Posted 10/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb tool

    Posted 01/10/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved my ass with my "first time" preparation of PCB for small series production. Thanks a lot!

    Posted 11/15/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gerbv is very good tool !

    Posted 04/09/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I agree, excellent work. I tried so many (commercial) programs, and all of them are difficult to use, draw features incorrectly, and have no transparency. GerbV does all of this - opens multiple files CORRECTLY without a single question, including the drill file! I also really like the default transparency / mixing of layers... It's also quite fast. However, it could be a bit faster still, and maybe add anti-alias. Could this be done on the GPU?

    Posted 03/24/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks