Freeplane Icon

Application for Mind Mapping, Knowledge and Project Management

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
155
5
1
2
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 03/19/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Steep learning curve and sparse documentation but a very responsive User community that only wants you to get the most out of this 'best kept secret' application. It is certainly worth the investment to master this software. The payback is enormous.

    Posted 03/08/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been a fan of mind mapping for over 2 decades. I've used paper, whiteboards, and several software programs. Freeplane is the best I've found so far in terms of price, features, and ease of use. It produces attractive looking mind maps that are easy to format. I'm still discovering some of the neat little additional features such as attributes, notes, note details, tool tips, and time functions. I currently use it for my project overviews and to-do lists. It's worth spending a bit of time looking at the tutorial map. Thanks for a great program!

    Posted 02/22/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freeplane is a hidden gem. I use it extensively for all kinds of things.

    Posted 01/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works. I particularly appreciate that it's cross-platform and exports to DOC format easily. And that pasting from a node into other applications doesn't create line break problems--that happens with Xmind.

    Posted 12/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good

    Posted 11/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freeplane is rock solid for mindmapping and after setting up your custom keyboard shortcuts it is an incredible tool for productivity. The search is really good and linking between freeplane and other applications is supereasy. This is a great tool for anyone needing to document and manage knowledge!

    Posted 11/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    full star! It's convenient for office efficiency geeks

    Posted 09/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreePlane is a great application with very good potential. I have started to use again at work to get my thoughts down. There are a few bugs but happy to work through this and log bug tickets. I also discovered the Windows 10 Mobile App - ftsmind. Seems to open MM files which is great as I use Windows and Android phone. As an old freemind user, I think FreePlane has more potential. As far as all those people who give FreePlane a bad wrap and 1 star. My advice to you is get involved in the project or go spend some money on the non-opensource products that cost a fortune and see if your experience is any better. When you provide negative feedback to people who give up their own time for free, is not very motivating I'm sure. FreePlane is a great application and very cost effective :) I'm proud to be a supporter.

    Posted 09/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Un logiciel indispensable. Bien pensé. Ultra efficace.

    Posted 07/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a) This programm is the fastest I know: I can structure with it, on projected screen, the contents of oral presentations of my students while they speak, to help them visualize the relations of their own ideas. b) it is stable with no equal: I have maps with more than 4000 nodes. Never got stalled, I can't understand how that can happen ;) c) it is highly flexible, you can use different kinds of formats, comments, interconnections, plugins and own keystrokes to customize your own process. I use it since several years for own braining, for understanding readings, for designing working routes, for constructing argumentation paths for articles. And with plugins, even GTDs and so. My learning curve was quite fast, kind of reading instructions... In the forum, I had a problem and the developer reacted in less than 10 minutes with the final solution. simply unsurpassable

    Posted 07/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It definitely worth to try it, I have been using it to summarize lectures in engineering with several math equations, formated or plane text and raster graphics or even svg inside nodes. I am very impressed for its great usability and quality exporting maps to pdf, latex or images formats.

    Posted 06/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As time goes on, I keep coming back to this product over and over again. It simply provides flexibility and rapid information management that I haven't been able to find anywhere else. Even in Freemind. This app keeps getting better.

    Posted 05/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Satisfied.... ;)

    Posted 03/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Powerful - active Development. That's super software

    Posted 02/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having tried a coulple of mind-maps programs, I've stuck with freeplane and never looked back (3yrs now)

    Posted 01/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreePlane is an excellent MindMapping application. Reliable and easy to use.

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks a lot to the developers! One of the most helpful pieces of software ever! My hint for Linux-Users: I had problems with font-rendering on Ubuntu. After installing and activating Oracle JRE (jre-8u66-linux-x64.tar.gz) all looks brilliant.

    Posted 01/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an amazing piece of free software. Incredibly useful, fast and full of useful features. I use it to organise just about everything. Work, trips, information, daily tasks... I keep searching where I can at least buy some beers for the developers

    Posted 04/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It would be greater if, right-to-left languages was supported too. But in fact. it is wonderful!

    Posted 03/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several commercial mindmappers, but this is far more powerful than any of them. Obviously this is the best mind mapping tool out there. I use it for learning and for working also, for about 2 years, so its really time to give it 5 stars.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the update, but version 1.3.15 will not launch stopping with an "Unable to load Java Runtime Environment" dialog. Freeplane 1.3.12_pre06 continues to work just fine on OSX 10.10.2 Yosemite.

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic tool to organize basically everything, been using it for so long I can't remember when I started. If it disappeared I would have a big struggle going managing my work in any other way. Awesome features for me: 1. Being able to add as many attributes as I want to nodes (all other mindmap tools at most can have one) 2. The ability to script things to automate, so I get the features I want it to have (with a little programming skill and the multiple attributes feature you can achieve a lot without much effort and have different views on the same information. Just like it is done in the GTD addon.) 3. Import/Export functionality. (The possibility to create custom xslt for exporting is brilliant.) 4. Some really good addons (like Freeplane GTD and Mindslide to name a few) are probably reason enough for people that are non-programmers to use it 5. Customizability. You can do so much, but it might not be apparent at a first glance. 6. No need for installation and being multi-platform. Can use it on both on pc and mac and share the same map that is in the "cloud". But the number one killer feature is managing a mindmap with only the keyboard! This is the only mindmapping tool I know of where I don't need to switch between the mouse and keyboard all the time. Of course that means that you are relying on the automatic layout, but there are other tools for making pretty presentations, this is a hard core information management tool. A very big thanks to the developers which are building such a great tool and are so helpful in the support forum so I have never needed to ask a single question myself as I've already found the answers there!

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not being a programmer, I'm reluctant to give only a 4 to the design. But I wanted to note that some of the things that are hard-coded - like the position of the user-added icons in the menu) - are not as good as I think they could be. (Since I use my own icons a lot, I'd like the option of setting the user icons to be at the top of the menu rather than at the bottom.) I'd like to be able to customize the toolbars in general. Etc. These minor things aside, I have nothing but praise for this program and for the development team. Add to this that they have done this through SourceForge, and I'm blown away.

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app - keep improving it! :) :)

    Posted 10/27/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks