Freeplane Icon

An application for Mind Mapping, plus Knowledge and Project Management

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    full star! It's convenient for office efficiency geeks

    Posted 09/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreePlane is a great application with very good potential. I have started to use again at work to get my thoughts down. There are a few bugs but happy to work through this and log bug tickets. I also discovered the Windows 10 Mobile App - ftsmind. Seems to open MM files which is great as I use Windows and Android phone. As an old freemind user, I think FreePlane has more potential. As far as all those people who give FreePlane a bad wrap and 1 star. My advice to you is get involved in the project or go spend some money on the non-opensource products that cost a fortune and see if your experience is any better. When you provide negative feedback to people who give up their own time for free, is not very motivating I'm sure. FreePlane is a great application and very cost effective :) I'm proud to be a supporter.

    Posted 09/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sadly, I must also report that Freeplane only looks like a wonderful program, with many features I've been trying to find in a single app. In reality, it is a complete mess that has only left me extremely frustrated and angry at the Freeplane Community for thinking its even slightly acceptable to dump such garbage on an unsuspecting and trusting public, even for Open Source!!! Frankly, it qualifies as abusive. Due to the supposed potential of its features, I literally spent 6 hours trying to learn it using its outdated, incorrect, and often confusing Tutorial. I only made it half way through the Tutorial, and I still feel like I don't have a handle on even basic features due to the mess this App is in. The fun begins with Many Dead Links on the Freeplane Support web pages and continues straight into the Map they use for their Tutorial. Straight away, you're met by a Giant Dead Node labeled "Functions Index" that links to a file that can't be found anywhere in Freeplane's Documentation when you look for it separate from the link. Then, you're blessed with the absence of simple universally accepted logic for how the App works. For example, you can't Click and Drag to choose multiple items. Instead, it doesn't matter what Key you add to clicking and dragging -- the Command, Option, or Shift Key all result in the same action of moving the Map around the screen. Control+Click pulls up the Contextual Menu that Right Clicking does. What a frustrating waste of high value Key+Click Commands. Simple tasks like Deletion and Undo are so stupidly designed, they're still a mystery in many cases, even after my 6 hours of Tutorial-based learning. The word "Delete" doesn't even exist in their Key Word Searchable Help Topics. Nor is there a Menu Option anywhere for Delete. Instead, it's named, "Remove Node", and the Key Command doesn't work. Click on a Node to delete it and only the text is deleted. Try and Undo this and you have to click outside the Node before Undo works to restore the text. Click on the Node's handle to Delete, nothing happens. In fact, the only way to Delete a Node outside the Edit Menu is to use the Cut Command with Command+X -- very dangerous and problematic. Child Node Creation is Menu Dependent as well. Seriously?!!! What nonsense!!! The Properties Panel is also a complete Mess!! Options are no longer Named as Instructed, and the Logic is Confusing. All I wanted to figure out was how to create an evenly spaced list of Nodes with a Similar Style. No way of automatically spacing them out without being tied to very ugly and unusable side effects. The following are just a sampling of additional commands you are told to use that don't do as they say. Sadly, I didn't start the list when it first started happening, so know that there are plenty more to be found in the first half of the Tutorial alone! Moving a connected node in space - Double Clicking oval handle does NOT move node to its original place. Automatic Edge Color - Option does not exist in Properties Panel. Missing - How to evenly space out a Group of Nodes. Free Floating Node Creation - Control+Click (as in one Instruction) and Control+Double Click (as in another Instruction) do NOT create this type of Node. You either have to use the Edit Drop-Down Menu, or create your own Short-Cut Key (Thank God for that feature ability - a True Blessing in this mess!) Free Floating Node Child Creation - Menu dependent, at best. Keeping CTRL pressed while choosing Add Connector does not enable the addition of a Label to the Connector Line Scrolling and panning the map - You CANNOT pan the map with Ctrl+Shift+Curcor up/down/left/right. You CAN with a Mouse Wheel for up/down andr Shift+Mouse Wheel left right. Bottom Line... the Freeplane Community should be ashamed of itself. For something like this to exist is the entire Community's fault, not just one individual's. Freeplane is the type of project that gives Open Source a Bad name!! Thanks for stealing a day of my life for nothing! ---------- UPDATE: Dimitry replied with, "If you want me to change anything please use a classic way and report what you believe to be a bug or inproper documentation. Regards. ---------- Dimitry is clearly committed to preventing other Newcomers from having horribleexperiences. (sarcasm)

    Posted 08/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its with great disappointment that I am writing this review. Freeplane is an excellent program no doubt, a kind of which is unparalleled. But freeplane developers do not show any consideration for the Open source and Free software community, especially for GNU/Linux. I am seeing this from many years. Freeplane is giving utmost preference to Windows and Mac platforms. Its as if they are being supported by Microsoft or Apple. Why this betrayal with GNU/Linux community. We love Freeplane but you are betraying our love and running after false love towards Microsoft Windows and Apple Mac, even though they don't give a damn about you. Why are you making it so difficult for GNU/Linux users to install Freeplane? The freeplane we get in Software manager is of very old versions. Why do you betray us? Can't you produce binaries for GNU/Linux like that you produce for Windows and Mac. At least can't you give PPA for us to install manually. WHY DO YOU HATE GNU/LINUX? Freeplane should get more than 5 stars, no doubt. But the pain and agony that comes with the feeling of being betrayed again and again has made me give 1 star. In fact I didn't want to give any stars to them.

    Posted 08/01/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Un logiciel indispensable. Bien pensé. Ultra efficace.

    Posted 07/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a) This programm is the fastest I know: I can structure with it, on projected screen, the contents of oral presentations of my students while they speak, to help them visualize the relations of their own ideas. b) it is stable with no equal: I have maps with more than 4000 nodes. Never got stalled, I can't understand how that can happen ;) c) it is highly flexible, you can use different kinds of formats, comments, interconnections, plugins and own keystrokes to customize your own process. I use it since several years for own braining, for understanding readings, for designing working routes, for constructing argumentation paths for articles. And with plugins, even GTDs and so. My learning curve was quite fast, kind of reading instructions... In the forum, I had a problem and the developer reacted in less than 10 minutes with the final solution. simply unsurpassable

    Posted 07/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It definitely worth to try it, I have been using it to summarize lectures in engineering with several math equations, formated or plane text and raster graphics or even svg inside nodes. I am very impressed for its great usability and quality exporting maps to pdf, latex or images formats.

    Posted 06/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As time goes on, I keep coming back to this product over and over again. It simply provides flexibility and rapid information management that I haven't been able to find anywhere else. Even in Freemind. This app keeps getting better.

    Posted 05/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Satisfied.... ;)

    Posted 03/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Images are not adding at all! Png, svg. So sad :^(. Image adding context menu don't works. It's dead.

    Posted 03/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Powerful - active Development. That's super software

    Posted 02/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having tried a coulple of mind-maps programs, I've stuck with freeplane and never looked back (3yrs now)

    Posted 01/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreePlane is an excellent MindMapping application. Reliable and easy to use.

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks a lot to the developers! One of the most helpful pieces of software ever! My hint for Linux-Users: I had problems with font-rendering on Ubuntu. After installing and activating Oracle JRE (jre-8u66-linux-x64.tar.gz) all looks brilliant.

    Posted 01/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The mindmap, team really know what they are doing. 1 star will come when inserted photo files will work also after saving those files to O365

    Posted 11/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like to work with freeplane very much. I wish I could understand how to work with styles, did not find decent instructions on that. At this moment I'm out: updated to .1.3.15 replaced the older version and now I get the message: "Unable to load Java Runtime Environment".

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an amazing piece of free software. Incredibly useful, fast and full of useful features. I use it to organise just about everything. Work, trips, information, daily tasks... I keep searching where I can at least buy some beers for the developers

    Posted 04/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It would be greater if, right-to-left languages was supported too. But in fact. it is wonderful!

    Posted 03/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried several commercial mindmappers, but this is far more powerful than any of them. Obviously this is the best mind mapping tool out there. I use it for learning and for working also, for about 2 years, so its really time to give it 5 stars.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the update, but version 1.3.15 will not launch stopping with an "Unable to load Java Runtime Environment" dialog. Freeplane 1.3.12_pre06 continues to work just fine on OSX 10.10.2 Yosemite.

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic tool to organize basically everything, been using it for so long I can't remember when I started. If it disappeared I would have a big struggle going managing my work in any other way. Awesome features for me: 1. Being able to add as many attributes as I want to nodes (all other mindmap tools at most can have one) 2. The ability to script things to automate, so I get the features I want it to have (with a little programming skill and the multiple attributes feature you can achieve a lot without much effort and have different views on the same information. Just like it is done in the GTD addon.) 3. Import/Export functionality. (The possibility to create custom xslt for exporting is brilliant.) 4. Some really good addons (like Freeplane GTD and Mindslide to name a few) are probably reason enough for people that are non-programmers to use it 5. Customizability. You can do so much, but it might not be apparent at a first glance. 6. No need for installation and being multi-platform. Can use it on both on pc and mac and share the same map that is in the "cloud". But the number one killer feature is managing a mindmap with only the keyboard! This is the only mindmapping tool I know of where I don't need to switch between the mouse and keyboard all the time. Of course that means that you are relying on the automatic layout, but there are other tools for making pretty presentations, this is a hard core information management tool. A very big thanks to the developers which are building such a great tool and are so helpful in the support forum so I have never needed to ask a single question myself as I've already found the answers there!

    Posted 01/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not being a programmer, I'm reluctant to give only a 4 to the design. But I wanted to note that some of the things that are hard-coded - like the position of the user-added icons in the menu) - are not as good as I think they could be. (Since I use my own icons a lot, I'd like the option of setting the user icons to be at the top of the menu rather than at the bottom.) I'd like to be able to customize the toolbars in general. Etc. These minor things aside, I have nothing but praise for this program and for the development team. Add to this that they have done this through SourceForge, and I'm blown away.

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app - keep improving it! :) :)

    Posted 10/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The functionality is great, but why it's so slow drag a big map? :( (it's a map with text only, that drags fast on FreeMind)

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I started with freemind, and have been using freeplane for years. I use it every day at work. I use it to write code, and especially debug. It's fantastic. Only problem is: I have 3 boxes that run windows 7, and it works on 2 of them, but, my last install of the 3rd box hasn't worked for well over a year and I can't figure out how to get it to work. I found some options to set and scripts to run that got it to launch, but, I can't save anything. The other boxes are great. I wish I had some way to figure this out.

    Posted 07/29/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks