FreeOrion Icon

alpha

4X Space Strategy Game

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
24
2
0
1
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of the best games out there, and it is not even out of alpha. The designers put enough complexity in to make it incredible, but they have kept the learning curve at a point where new players can figure out the game in a day or two. They have more features to add as I am sure they will have for years, but right now it is not only playable, but fun. And so, with time, I cannot wait to see how it improves.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On ne lâche pas de toute la nuit...

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The commercial quality made in freeware. I've been following this project for ten years. It's still under work. It's still improving. but however it's not complete, it's still interesting. In five words, it's just G.R.E.A.T.

    Posted 02/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An extremely well made game, at the time of this review it is only in version 0.4.2, but I am amazed on the quality of the game at such an early stage. It will be extremely interesting to watch the development of this game in the future; and the Developers seem very dedicated to expanding and improving the quality of the content. Big Thumbs Up!

    Posted 05/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I loved MOO2 and it is great to see a free and open source game inspired by it that runs on GNU/Linux. I really enjoy playing it and can't wait for further improvements.

    Posted 03/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works and fast.

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work! FreeOrion works perfectly! Thanks!

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freeorion is small and works nicely

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is logical-charming game. Constantly I expect fresh updatings.

    Posted 08/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I want to translate your project to turkish. how can I do?

    Posted 06/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice game, unfortunately the single player mode is let down by the stupidity of the enemy AI. It could do with a difficulty setting to balance it. It would probably work best with a small galaxy size in multiplayer mode.

    Posted 02/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We want new linux version of it! Thanks for making such a good game!

    Posted 02/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great game, it's so good that we play it for hours despite being incomplete.

    Posted 01/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for the free and open source.

    Posted 01/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good game and project, makes fun...

    Posted 06/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/24/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    still enthralling despite it's beta status. based on the current binary, i am confident that an excellent game will result.

    Posted 10/01/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very cool game with incredible graphics

    Posted 08/18/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great game, better interface graphics than MoO3. I hope there will be more features in the future

    Posted 05/27/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    in short its requre little work and will be great :)

    Posted 05/22/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far so good.

    Posted 05/15/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very cool project, with very nice graphics, which is very rare in FOSS games.

    Posted 04/24/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please note that you must have GiGi installed to compile the source -- GiGi is not common among any operating systems and you will likely have to install it manually. It can be found on sourceforge (why they don't simply integrate the GiGi with FreeOrion through git/svn is a mystery to me -- especially sizne at least tzlaine is working on both projects).

    Posted 02/06/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If every completed, will be a nice game.

    Posted 09/22/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks