FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2013-12-15, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
131
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beneficial project, thanks a lot for sharing

    Posted 03/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The 0.7.5 series is still nicer than a iX FN8 rewrite of FreeNAS. I don't like the webgui, i don't like the way iX does handle the community. i now suggest to move to NAS4Free

    Posted 03/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome job, thanks for telling

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent pour se faiire un serveur NAS à moindre cout et assez facilement somme toute...

    Posted 02/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is without a doubt an excellent storage platform available for free

    Posted 02/18/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a great tool!Great software, makes comparing and merging al lot easier!

    Posted 02/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I’m Davide Mei, an italian student. I found out a strange behaviour regarding FreeNAS votes in "March SourceForge Project Of The Month"!!! Every time some votes are added to wPP project, also freeNAS has same behaviour. and, once per day, freeNAS votes are increasing very quickly. During a checkout made Yesterday evening I saw more than 400 votes in less of 3 minutes… I think this is not the right behaviour to win a poll!!!!!

    Posted 02/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7.x (legacy freenas) reigns supreme at the moment, though is being forced to rename or cease development. 8 has quite a few bugs and is not mature enough to be considered a stable "release" version, though it is labeled as such. The UI leaves a lot to be desired as well. The folks at IX seem like great people, but they're off the mark thus far with freenas 8.

    Posted 02/08/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When main properties are clear, this program works very friendly.

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNas installed on HP ProLiant ML110 (g1) , 3,5GB ram, 4x1TB sata disk, ZFS raidz1, raid card sil3114, work fine, i LOVE freenas 8.0.3!

    Posted 02/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is definitive a robust and reliable storage solution. THanks for all developers in this project.

    Posted 10/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I vote yes as an investment in the future. I am using Oliver's last version on several systems as it is robust and reliable. I will wait for a need to upgrade and an increase in positive comments. I am sure you will get there before too long. Keep up the good work!!

    Posted 06/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS until 0.7.1 good job and excellent service for NAS, after this version (like 0.8), lost services, inestable, more hardware requirements...

    Posted 05/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed FreeNAS RC4 32 as a test on a 4 gig CF card and it runs like wildfire. Going to make the jump to final release and put in my new 2 TB.

    Posted 05/04/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I played with an older version of FreeNAS last year on an old box I wasn't using. I got an OS up and running in 30 minutes and was sharing folders. it was so easy and seemed really solid. I'm now looking at a big white brick that used to be My Worldbook Second Edition run the sync for about the 12th time in several week as I try to rebuild it. If (or when) this fails, I have a drive setup with FreeNAS 7.2 embedded to try in the box. It might work, it might not. Worth a try. Wish me luck. I'll let you guys know what happens.

    Posted 03/27/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm completly new to FreeNAS, yesterday I installed FreeNAS 8 RC3, mostly because I wanted to check out the ZFS implementation. By the way, ZFS is also new 2 me :-). It was easy, fast and straight forward to install, just a few problems writing the image file to the USB-stick. And, make sure to check hardware compatiblity before install. Creating storage was a little bit confusing to me. I wanna use ZFS, but could not find any virtual devs and pools. I have only found ZFS volumes and ZFS datasets. I guess the developers are trying to make it easier reducing the steps and the input needed (take it easy dudes, don't try pushing to far). I'm also worried about not knowing how the system will manage new drives - when I need to add GB:s in the future - to the existing virtual dev and pool (or whatever they are called in FreeNAS). I miss some services services that I know was implemented in earlier versions. I need to experiment and read some more about this beta, and maybe also with the stable FreeNAS 7 version, even though it's not uppgradeable to version 8. You are doing a wonderfull job developing this small but powerfull piece of software. Congratulations and keep up the good work guys.

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS rocks. I have used it to manage a home server that I built with parts lying around from older computers. Keep up the great work guys. Considering donating to you cash to you guys in my next round of philanthropic madness ( Controlled madness, i.e. small sums of money, :-) )

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    REALLY LOVE IT, *BUT* very frustrating dealing with kernel panics and vm_alloc errors. Have 4GB Ram, Supermicro X7SPA-H-O Atom D510, 4x 2TB disks (ZFS-z1).

    Posted 03/23/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We choose FreeNAS because of: AFP Shares Apple Time Machine MS AD Single Sign On NFS Shares Rsync SMB Shares SMB Recycle bin TFTP Shares ZFS Filesystem We would love to see: Tape changer backup

    Posted 03/18/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS solution

    Posted 03/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job Thanks a lot. I'm waiting for something to use the NAS as a multimedia device, my TV is the NAS display !

    Posted 03/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More awkward to use than previous versions. Where is rsync in Services? There's a bug when viewing all UNIX Shares for non-existant shares in that there is a constant "fuel-gauge" that won't go away. Why can't I easily use my existing disk data structures; I do not have and extra 4+ TB of space or the time to backup, create and restore data to and from new disk structures. Responsiveness is gone from all interface windows. Display System Processes does not return. The default shell has been made as csh - why? - this is deviation from "normal" UNIX standards as was tcsh. Enabling ssh requires a reboot - this is becoming too much like Microsoft rubbish in both appearance and behaviour. Running fdisk from an SSH command line reports the following: "freenas# fdisk fdisk: mounted root fs resource doesn't match expectations (regexec returned 1)" Sorry but I don't like this version at all.

    Posted 03/10/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS 8 does it's job well. I'm currently migrating all OpenFiler appliances to FreeNAS.

    Posted 03/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It spits out files via nfs like lightning. I've never had a problem with it. It is stable as a rock, free (under the BSD license), and everyone from a novice to an expert can utilize the program. Thumbs up!

    Posted 02/25/2011
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks