× Help save net neutrality! Learn more.
FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2017-05-03, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
131
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is definitive a robust and reliable storage solution. THanks for all developers in this project.

    Posted 10/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I vote yes as an investment in the future. I am using Oliver's last version on several systems as it is robust and reliable. I will wait for a need to upgrade and an increase in positive comments. I am sure you will get there before too long. Keep up the good work!!

    Posted 06/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed FreeNAS RC4 32 as a test on a 4 gig CF card and it runs like wildfire. Going to make the jump to final release and put in my new 2 TB.

    Posted 05/04/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I played with an older version of FreeNAS last year on an old box I wasn't using. I got an OS up and running in 30 minutes and was sharing folders. it was so easy and seemed really solid. I'm now looking at a big white brick that used to be My Worldbook Second Edition run the sync for about the 12th time in several week as I try to rebuild it. If (or when) this fails, I have a drive setup with FreeNAS 7.2 embedded to try in the box. It might work, it might not. Worth a try. Wish me luck. I'll let you guys know what happens.

    Posted 03/27/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm completly new to FreeNAS, yesterday I installed FreeNAS 8 RC3, mostly because I wanted to check out the ZFS implementation. By the way, ZFS is also new 2 me :-). It was easy, fast and straight forward to install, just a few problems writing the image file to the USB-stick. And, make sure to check hardware compatiblity before install. Creating storage was a little bit confusing to me. I wanna use ZFS, but could not find any virtual devs and pools. I have only found ZFS volumes and ZFS datasets. I guess the developers are trying to make it easier reducing the steps and the input needed (take it easy dudes, don't try pushing to far). I'm also worried about not knowing how the system will manage new drives - when I need to add GB:s in the future - to the existing virtual dev and pool (or whatever they are called in FreeNAS). I miss some services services that I know was implemented in earlier versions. I need to experiment and read some more about this beta, and maybe also with the stable FreeNAS 7 version, even though it's not uppgradeable to version 8. You are doing a wonderfull job developing this small but powerfull piece of software. Congratulations and keep up the good work guys.

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS rocks. I have used it to manage a home server that I built with parts lying around from older computers. Keep up the great work guys. Considering donating to you cash to you guys in my next round of philanthropic madness ( Controlled madness, i.e. small sums of money, :-) )

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    REALLY LOVE IT, *BUT* very frustrating dealing with kernel panics and vm_alloc errors. Have 4GB Ram, Supermicro X7SPA-H-O Atom D510, 4x 2TB disks (ZFS-z1).

    Posted 03/23/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We choose FreeNAS because of: AFP Shares Apple Time Machine MS AD Single Sign On NFS Shares Rsync SMB Shares SMB Recycle bin TFTP Shares ZFS Filesystem We would love to see: Tape changer backup

    Posted 03/18/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS solution

    Posted 03/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job Thanks a lot. I'm waiting for something to use the NAS as a multimedia device, my TV is the NAS display !

    Posted 03/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS 8 does it's job well. I'm currently migrating all OpenFiler appliances to FreeNAS.

    Posted 03/09/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It spits out files via nfs like lightning. I've never had a problem with it. It is stable as a rock, free (under the BSD license), and everyone from a novice to an expert can utilize the program. Thumbs up!

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is a great way to push my boundaries and confidence. Now I know just enough to be dangerous (to my self).

    Posted 02/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent easy to handle

    Posted 01/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very cool

    Posted 01/05/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sweet as candy :D Im getting all of the functions i need in this dist.

    Posted 12/18/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well. iSCSI target setup was easy and worked in minutes!!

    Posted 12/05/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best NAS distribution that works out of the box!!

    Posted 11/27/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 11/16/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great nas software!!

    Posted 11/11/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice project

    Posted 10/27/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice!

    Posted 10/22/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product and has grown since I first found this little gem.

    Posted 10/15/2010
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you