FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2017-05-03, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
131
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It has not worked for me so good!

    Posted 11/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I spent a good bit of time on performance tuning but was never able to improve the write performance to the ZFS pool (read performance was fine). When I heard about NAS4Free, I installed it in the place of my existing FreeNAS installation and the performance has been outstanding! When I use the windows explorer to open the shared dataset with over 3000 files and lots of directories, the list view in the explorer is filled in: FreeNAS 8: close to 1 minute. NAS4free x64 9.1.0.1.457: less than 1 second. I have thought all the time that FreeNAS was the way to go, it seems no longer the case.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is a very helpful tool for my storage needs. Many thanks to the developer.

    Posted 11/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great as my home NAS

    Posted 11/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool project, thanks for showing!

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is good for what i need.. thx alot

    Posted 10/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice but not the perfect one

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 10/16/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 10/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely NOT ready for prime time unless you are a linux admin. Product is horribly unreliable.

    Posted 09/25/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best choise for file server in small & middle business's office

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very user-friendly and time effective project for everyone!

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good system! work as it should work

    Posted 08/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works as supposed to work.

    Posted 08/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent platform for such benefits as the price can also add stability of the work, as well as ease of operation

    Posted 07/23/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic, have been using it for years! If it had pre-sets for the encoder settings it would be even more useful.

    Posted 07/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool; it's been very helpful for scripts and such over the years

    Posted 07/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freenas 7 was great and the move to freenas 8 was not a good thing. Just the memory needs for freenas 8 are obsurd. Please discontinue freenas 8 and bring back something that works.

    Posted 07/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have always loved FreeNAS. It was one of the first servers I ever set up, back in the day in my parent's basement.

    Posted 06/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sounds good, but I’m not about to upgrade from Freenas 7 until I know that 8 is really stable… and there’s an easy upgrade path.

    Posted 06/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, have all i need.

    Posted 05/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This remarkable idea is necessary just by the way

    Posted 04/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice.

    Posted 03/30/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I made a fast test: Once you join it in Active Directory, you can manipulate all existing Users and Groups permissions from an Windows client. Thus you don't have to visit its GUI for every task. For instance: you can grant full permissions for existing Admins Group and read+write for Users Group. It is a great product for IT infrastructures. Suggestion: GlusterFS (or similar) service will be nice to have it on features list. This will allow mirroring and striping very large files, that are modified continuously, on multiple FreeNAS systems , e.g.: virtual disk images. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent pour se faiire un serveur NAS à moindre cout et assez facilement somme toute...

    Posted 03/13/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks