FreeMind Icon

A premier mind-mapping software written in Java

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
213
4
2
0
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeMind's user interface is clunky and illogical at times. I find myself searching through the menu and help system just to find basic functionality. Previously I've used Mind Manager and Mind Genius both of which are very easy to learn with a clean and simple interface getting the job done quickly. In my opinion FreeMind is in desperate need of a complete redesign and modernization of the user interface.

    Posted 08/07/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, gives me just what i need.

    Posted 05/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best free mind mapping software available.

    Posted 04/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "Open your mind... Open your mind..." (c)

    Posted 03/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice work!

    Posted 01/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice tools.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, I use this all the time.

    Posted 10/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pour changer, je vais la faire en français car tout le monde ne maitrise pas forcément l'anglais. Pour tous ceux qui cherchent à augmenter leur productivité au travail, prendre des notes rapidement et organisées et ainsi éviter de tout coucher sur le papier, ce qui nous oblige de recopier après coup, voire de délaisser ses notes; ou alors afin d'éviter de prendre des notes de façon désordonnée et fastidieuse dans un simple document word... FreeMind est fait pour vous! Il est d'une part TRES facile d'utilisation et de prise en main. Il existe quelques petits tutoriels sur YouTube qui permettent rapidement de comprendre l'utilisation de ce logiciel. Je travaille dans l'informatique, en phase projet, coucher sur le papier toutes mes pensées, les laisser mijoter, revenir dessus, etc. était tout bonnement fastidieux car la plupart du temps, j'écrivais de longues spécifications fonctionnelles, les pages s'allongeaient, je devais constamment relire l'intégralité du document après plusieurs jour pour tout me remettre en tête. ICI, NON! Avec FreeMind, tout est visuel, des documents word de plusieurs dizaines de pages tiennent en une seule page d'un seul coup d'oeil. La possibilité de réduire chaque noeud ou de les étendre en fait également un outils idéal pour concevoir des bases de données, ou simplement de la documentation (d'ailleurs, la documentation de FreeMind utilise FreeMind, évidemment :)). Et pour finir avec une belle cerise griotte confite sur le beau gâteau au chocolat, la possibilité de mettre des liens vers des URLs, des documents, des fichiers locaux (exécutables), etc. en fait un SUPERBE compagnon de travail au quotidien afin de rester organisé et retrouver RAPIDEMENT toutes les informations essentielles dont nous avons besoin! Je recommande chaudement... Il mériterait à être connu dans les écoles et bien sûr en entreprise! Un grand BRAVO au(x) développeur(s)!

    Posted 07/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So Complete and Easy! I've looked at a lot of mind mapping tools, open source and paid aplications. FreeMind is by far the best. It is easy, intuitive and feature rich. My favorite thinking tool by far.

    Posted 06/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Дерьмо не удобное

    Posted 05/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately it doesn't have top-bottom diagrams, and for this only reason I have to use the non open source xmind. Hope to see this option sooner or later... I'm checking for it once in a while.

    Posted 03/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I very lile it, but the last edition (v1.0.1) can`t keyin the Chinese, but the FreeMind1.0.0_for_10.6.8.dmg can work!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very usefull

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beautiful Software ! Thinking and planning has been made so much easier with the help of this software. Great Work !

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this piece of software ! Use it frequently.

    Posted 01/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use FreeMind on a daily basis, and must say that I'm impressed with it's value. Basic use is very pleasant and intuitive, more advanced features are at your disposal when you look for them. The stability of this software is impressive - next to rock solid. I warmly recommend FreeMind to any and all who likes to unload thoughts, organize related information on varying abstraction levels, write freely; constantly changing subject, gather and organize knowledge and more.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've known about mind-mapping for a long time, but it is only recently that I decided to start using it seriously to organise my ideas. So far, I have only been playing with it; using it for projects that are not important, but I am starting to discover its power. One feature that I particularly like is the ability to incorporate executable links in the labels; I tend to collect a large number of links to web sites when doing my research, and this looks like it could provide a good way of organising them logically. Features gets a just OK rating because it only recognises Microsoft programmes. Only a minority of people use internet explorer any more; it would be nice to allow one to import from other browsers directly. But it's free, so this is just a minor complaint.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've known about mind-mapping for a long time, but it is only recently that I decided to start using it seriously to organise my ideas. So far, I have only been playing with it; using it for projects that are not important, but I am starting to discover its power. One feature that I particularly like is the ability to incorporate executable links in the labels; I tend to collect a large number of links to web sites when doing my research, and this looks like it could provide a good way of organising them logically. Features gets a just OK rating because it only recognises Microsoft programmes. Only a minority of people use internet explorer any more; it would be nice to allow one to import from other browsers directly. But it's free, so this is just a minor complaint.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeMind is wonderful! I have been using it for years and I find it very useful. Thank you!

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    очень полезная программа

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy install and nicely intuitive for building large disparate sets of actions for addition, changes, deletions and updates. Very nicely orchestrated for attribute management too.

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I started using Freemind long back in 2009. I had amazing experience everytime I want to speak out the idea on my mind.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful software! I've been using freemind almost every day since a couple of years.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By me, one of the best free mindmap application. It has all things I need and is very intuitive use.

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had Freemind a number of years ago, I had the disc as well, got it off ebay in about 2008. But I gave it to my team leader so she could learn how to use it. So I have only just started using it again. I have to say I am happy with it as free software it works well and I can get on with it. I am sorry I gave that disc away now, I am at uni and it comes in very handy for note taking on lectures and other media. I find it so easy to use which is good for me.

    Posted 05/27/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks