FreeArc Icon

beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
10
1
0
3
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is a great archiver especially for the price when you need to archive a truly large amount of data. For example, if you have lots of files like a several GB software development project. Another good example, is you need to backup a 30-50 GB of virtual machine data files. In large data cases I usually have lots of time and I want to get the best compression ration. FreeARC produces that best compression ratio and that's what I value it for. UI is a bit confusing, but I can not complain for the price. In general UI follows WinRAR design pattern only a bit plainer. On the modern hardware ultimate compression ratio is easy to accomplish, because of abundance of RAM and CPU power. I don't think this application utilizes multiple cores (see beta app note below). There is NO money to be made in archive applications, so this one is still quite good for the money. I doubt you get much support as the author is likely is busy with life and making money in some other ways. All in all it is a great application if you are looking for a way to get the best compression for large amount of data and you don't care how long it takes. That's what I use this app for. WinRAR for mainstream scenarios. On smaller (less than 1 GB data sets) the Ultimate compression does not provide as much benefit when compared to other apps. Beta Note: There is a forum for archive software developers and there you can find that author has made a successor to this version. The successor has even better compression ratios, better compression speed and it uses multiple cores. You cannot get that version from sourceforge and it is still an early beta.

    Posted 07/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    即使是aes+twofish也不行, Hope you can add threefish1024

    Posted 08/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply can't fault it. It hasn't been updated since 2010 and it's still better than WinRAR. If only it was updated again.

    Posted 04/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeArc is an outstanding archiver. To understand just how much it leaves the competition behind, go to the maximumcompression site and sort by "efficiency". FreeArc's only real problem is that it treats files under Windows as case-sensitive, which leads to duplicates when synchronising two machines, where one uses (for example) C:\Temp, the other C:\temp.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome compressor. I'd love to see the day in which srep gets included in the main branch. This way we will be able to make self extracting archives without the need to send the srep.ext binary.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program does some incredible compression with its .arc archive format ! It beats 7-zip in resulting archive size in some cases ! For example : 615mb registry image .reg file -> 7z( Ultra LZMA2 ) = resulting archive size 17.6 mb in ~2 minutes -> freearc ( Ultra + "protection: Add (autosize, 1-4%): " ) = resulting archive size 15.5 mb (14.9mb without recovery data ) in ~3 minutes Too bad there aren't any updated versions since 2010.. And also, its such a shame that the documentation for customizing the compression is offline though.. But the presets do an ok job.

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job. Pleasantly surprised.

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 09/17/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If u haven't tried using this a single,give it a go.Seems fantastic and has all proggies u would wish,is pleasurable.Plenty of do the job put into this 1.I try every single a single that comes out.

    Posted 12/16/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very promising archiver, with powerful and efficient compression and impressive set of useful features.

    Posted 10/29/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks