FlightGear - Flight Simulator Icon

FlightGear Flight Simulator: free open-source multiplatform flight sim

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
11
5
2
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Vorrei avere una documentazione per poter far partire il Cessna 172. Grazie I would like to have a record to start the Cessna 172. Thanks

    Posted 02/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So ive downloaded it and its installed i got to open it and it says that somthing is missing im running Windows 7 vista, am i suposed to do somthing els as well or is it just a malfuntion, if any staff are reading this could you pleas reply or email me. Thank it looks fun cant wait to pull back.

    Posted 01/29/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GOOD !

    Posted 01/10/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found installation of on Windows 10 to be very easy--just run the installer and wait...and wait. Getting an airplane to fly--well, that is another matter. Landing, another story too. I chose to stick with the Cessna 172 because I have actually flown these planes. To get the plane started, one must do exactly what you do in a real plane. Switches on, magneto to both, mixture to full, throttle to about 25%, prime several times, then start (with the s key). If you are flying with the mouse, use the option string to specify coordinated controls--otherwise, expect to crash. Landing takes a lot of practice but it is just as in a real plane. Reduce speed to about 80, flaps down, line up on the runway, and keep the plane flying as long as possible. Apply brakes after touching down to stop the roll out. This is a sophisticated simulation and is therefore not for the casual gamer. A real pilot can gain much practice and skill using it. Also, you can do crazy things you would never do in a real plane where you could kill yourself. Highly recommended.

    Posted 09/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's OK

    Posted 05/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    you need to make a Install Read me for the Noob users like me. Cant get it to work. Unless i do... Not a good review. I am searching for a list of User Friendly game to install on Cub Linux. This, didnt make it. Please IF you have Simple instructions you need to have them in the files. YOU dont. I will check back once a week.

    Posted 04/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you

    Posted 03/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The only viable open source flight simulator. Flexible, fun to fly, fun and relatively easy to develop aircraft and sceneries for. In some areas surpasses commercial flight simulators while on others sill has some catching up to do. Great software.

    Posted 10/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best flight simulators out there.

    Posted 09/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I actually like it, but my hardware doesn't support it.

    Posted 06/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having fun with flightsims since 1986. Before and after MSDOS-MSFS bullshitness. I discovered FG in 1997, since that I feel free in the best simulation environment ever made. I can fly in freedom, I do can learn coding, change and share aircrafts and any other components with my airfriends. FlightGear is a friendly flight simulator.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm enjoying it, every day! I'm running FGFS 3.5 on Mac OS X 10.10.3

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A wonderful flight simulator with a wide range of aircraft and really beautiful scenery. It's quite challenging for a beginner to come familiar with the program, but with a bit ambition you can enjoy this great flight sim. Another aspect: Anyone can contribute to the project and so anyone can help making FlightGear better. Big thanks to all people, who have contributed to FlightGear, this is an awesome piece of work!

    Posted 05/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FlightGear is a fantastic flight simulator with a huge variety of excellent aircraft, beautiful scenery, and realistic flight dynamics. It can be tricky to install, configure, and run, but the fun of it makes this effort well worth your time.

    Posted 05/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For the average gamer in search of such a simulation, installation of this is an exercise in frustration. One thing after another was required to make the binary, and there is nothing in the install document that adequately instructs a user on a stock user-friendly Linux distro about what is needed. There are a collection of readme files, as if they are afterthoughts, but little reference to them. Maybe when this is more refined and dependencies more easily met, the average gamer might be more interested. Otherwise, I don't see this moving out of the serious Linux geek arena.

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great free sim with a lots of possibility.

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best free flight simulator in the world..

    Posted 03/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Honestly, most of these Open Source games are a disappointment. I think the game be widely tested, have open source, several contributors and be cross-platform, it's a game, at least functional. I do not say stable for all platforms, but with a **minimal functionality**. I downloaded a HUGE file, 1 GB, and the game just did not work. To a file of this size, you should have the good sense to create an application to test the configuration BEFORE the user download 1 GB and receive an error message. Another disappointing fact was the installer ask me to disable my anti-virus. I will not do. I'll never shut off my security to install software in test stage. -------- Sinceramente, a maioria desses jogos Open Source são uma decepção.Espera-se que, pelo fado de o jogo ser amplamente testado, ter o código aberto, vários contribuidores e ser multiplataforma, que seja um jogo, no mínimo, funcional. Não digo estável para todas as plataformas, mas com uma **funcionalidade mínima**. Baixei um arquivo ENORME, 1 GB, e o jogo simplesmente não funcionou. Pra um arquivo desse tamanho, vocês deveriam ter o bom senso de criar um aplicativo para testar a configuração ANTES de o jogador baixar 1 GB e receber uma mensagem de erro. Outro fato decepcionante foi o instalador pedir para eu desativar o meu anti-virus. Jamais farei. Nunca desabilitarei meus softwares de segurança para instalar um software em estágio beta.

    Posted 03/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely fantastic sim!

    Posted 03/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome Sim!

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's amazing.

    Posted 10/14/2011

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks