FAR - Find And Replace Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
15
1
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software can do batch regex replace on binaries with back referencing - and it is extremely fast

    Posted 11/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful, you saved my life from wasting time :)

    Posted 08/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The name of the project is very misleading. I am using FAR for many years, it is for me like OS GUI. I do absolutely everything from FAR. I don't even know how to live without it. I guess, I was too much attached to Norton Commander in DOS :) So I thought this thing here was a FAR plugin and downloaded it. Turns out, it is an attempt to attract people by using the name of the most useful and most important Windows application ever... As to its functionality, I did not get around to testing it yet (hence 5 stars - for now) - still in shock because of its name - but it will be interesting to compare its capabilities with what UltraEdit can do - my 2nd favorite Windows application:)

    Posted 07/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! Saved me from a screw up I made. Made a dumb mistake on all the pages of a site. Just had to change one word in many pages. Worked like a charm. Thanks so much! PS I had to rate support and I did not need it, so I gave it a 5 anyway.

    Posted 11/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The only "find and replace" tool I have found which ... * Does not corrupt Windows files * Lists files before changing them It can also insert multi-line replacements. In all, a fantastic program, and an essential part of everybody's tool kit. Thank you. Notes for any future upgrades. - Needs a Windows installer, or you need to copy a shortcut to the start menu - Only the start of the directory path is shown, however it is usually the end which is more useful - Can be slow if 1000's of files in the directory and its sub-directories. Tested with "Windows XP SP3". (regular expressions not tested)

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm giving this fine little app five stars because it saved my private cloud. I found that, due to vulnerabilities, the private cloud application version I was using had become infected: A Chinese hacker had injected code into all 5,324 PHP files, completely disabling all functionality in the process. I zipped the entire folder on the server and downloaded it. Though the injected code was obfuscated and contained many characters besides letters and numbers--and was some 13,000 bytes in size--FAR found each and every occurrence in those 5,324 files and deleted it. This entire process took less than 10 minutes on my desktop PC. Uploading the zip to my server and expanding it, gave me my cloud back. FAR - Find And Replace has become a permanent tool for my programming and website maintenance needs. Kudos to Olivier Wehner!

    Posted 07/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This FAR Project is very good! It can save much time for us! my Email:fysuccess@sina.com, I want to know how to complete batch function? How to contact to the author?

    Posted 11/01/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and easy to use. Love the ability to use regular expressions. Amazingly quick. Checked multiple directories and files and did the replaces I need at warp speed. Thanks, Saved me loads of time :-)

    Posted 06/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As Olivier says, you might only need it once a year but it can save a lot of time when you do. Easy to understand, no surprises and includes a good basic explanation of regex in the Help docs for those that need it.

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful project!

    Posted 06/01/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good work:)

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a marvelous program. Makes life so much easier!

    Posted 02/26/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this tool!

    Posted 04/12/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple but useful tool. It lacks the ability to preview changes, but if you use a version control system then this isn't a problem.

    Posted 09/03/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very nice tool if you want to replace multiple lines of text.

    Posted 07/30/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks