Ext2 File System Driver for Windows Icon

A Linux ext2/ext3 file system driver for Windows

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
81
2
3
0
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashy crashy crashcrash. Installed the driver, plugged in a ext2 file system device, and tadaa, system dead. Reboot. I'll let the event log speak: "The device G:\ (location (unknown)) is offline due to a user-mode driver crash. Windows will attempt to restart the device 5 more times. Please contact the device manufacturer for more information about this problem." It's a 32 bit driver too - very up to date, you see. Now to the rating: Ease: Good = Easily crash your system. Features: 1 = There is a single feature, it crashes your system. Design: Poor = No error message is displayed. Your system just freezes. Support: Poor = No help anywhere, just an uninstall program. Which also freezes until I reboot the system.

    Posted 08/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The ext2fsd's window will not show up on Windows 10, so it's impossible to use this program. I opened the issue for this problem.

    Posted 07/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is what I want! Smooth and Simple! Loved it :D

    Posted 05/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works as intended. very smooth and very easy to use and does the job seamless in the background

    Posted 04/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent piece of software. V0.66 perfect.

    Posted 04/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best solution for using your ext drives in Windows. The latest release works perfectly Windows 10.

    Posted 03/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The splash after initial startup hung around for a while and I worried that it was failing based on some other comments but I just had to wait. I like the improvements that have been made on this program since I last used it: automatic startup and mounting settings within the program itself make it more convenient-feeling for me. Good job devs :) Thank you very much.

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seems to work. However, I didn't test it very well, yet.

    Posted 12/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please note that the splash remains on screen, at least under win10, and makes Ext2File useless on 10 inch screen that several new note books offer. I cannot rate the application because I was unable to use it on an hp 2 in 1 with 10.1 screen.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfect on Windows 10 :)

    Posted 10/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not work in Windows 10 .

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Ext2-4 driver for Windows

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool. A bit slow on 1st startup, but then it's amazing. Thank you very much, developer.

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes. For sanity, I did a comparison afterwards and everything was there.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!!!

    Posted 04/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used this to recover data off of an external hard-drive running Linux as a base operating system. When the mother board died, removed the hard-drive, installed in my computer and installed this software. Worked flawlessly, currently copying all the data off the drive onto my other drive. Thanks.

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On Windows 7 64 bit with 1 SSD, 2 SATA drives and USB3 it quietly worked incorrectly. I connected 2 2TB drives (both formatted as Ext3, one empty) using USB3 enclosures, then copied the entire contents of one drive to the other. The "from" drive had 893GB free and the "to" drive started out with 1810GB free. After the copy completed the "to" drive had 1810GB free but less than half the directories existed. I've no idea where the data went to. Sorry but as far as I'm concerned this software is worthless. I'm not prepared to waste more time on it by providing debug info. I achieved my copy by booting up a SystemRescueCd containing Linux and copying the data using that.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great savior tool!

    Posted 11/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 09/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software!!! It works perfectlty!!!

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the humor: Mounted an OEM partition (backup partition) which was formatted as EXT2 (quite an old PC, late 2006, but only recently I've actually made a system backup using the OEM backup software), mounted it as readonly, then attempted to create a folder. The error message was a funny one: 0x8000FFFF (user mode error 65535): Catastrophic failure OK, leaving that aside, it is an useful program (being the only one of its kind that doesn't BSOD my Windows 8.1 and forces me to get to safe mode and forcibly remove it, since the ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS one doesn't worn in safe mode :) Does it support EXT4? (even read-only, 'cuz I know how hard it is support EXT4 in Windows, just like NTFS in Linux or OSX :) ) I think it does, though I didn't actually try it. I made sure I mounted it as read-only, to avoid crippling my now-only backup of Windows -- if I break it, I'm practically screwed! 4 points for ease, since it's not very complicated but it's still not a granny-program -- but is it supposed to be? 4 points for features, due to lacking support for journaling (which makes some ext3 file systems unwritable -- nasty) 3 points for design: It couldn't blend into all versions of Windows anyway, the interface looks a bit "classic" to me but this is just user preference. 3 points for support -- default score. And a reply for electricprism's lowest rated review: Ext4 recognized as ext3 is actually a common thing in the Linux world itself, plus you might have had an older version that didn't (directly) support ext4 (ext4 without extents and journaling is simply ext3 with a new name, really, so read-only support was available before actual direct support) The BSOD might be a real issue back then (has it been fixed? hint: that large partition is more than 2^32 sectors, so don't mount filesystems that only work with 32-bit sector pointers and also do checkings -- doing some things in user space is a perfect way to avoid BSODs from ever occuring -- if the service crashes, then restart it and redo the mounting; you can also do separate daemons for each mount and unmount any filesystem that crashed -- that's a suggestion for special cases; in my case I've got none of these problems :) )

    Posted 08/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I too had a defect WD NAS and was able to extract my data using your program. Thanks a MILLION !!!! Would like to donate through PayPal but my donation is rejected since PayPal accounts in China can only be used for paying and not receiving. You should register a PayPal account in another country so that donations can be send to you !!! Please let me know when this is done and I'll be happy to send you 50 USD. Thanks for a great tool !!

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You are simply a life saver. Great work dude <thumbs up>

    Posted 05/28/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks