Ext2 File System Driver for Windows Icon

A Linux ext2/ext3 file system driver for Windows

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
82
2
3
0
13
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -

    Posted 06/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    *** BUYER BEWARE *** (i know the tool is free) Both the .68 and .69 versions are over reporting file counts and showing extra files in some folders but they do not exist. The file sync and copy tools are throwing errors because they cannot find the files. (One of my folders used numbers of files in the name, but the files in it were more than that) using the driver these files with legitimate names are showing up. Could they be deleted files/? i do not know. But I find the the driver to be UNSAFE for backing up linux media. Took me 32 hours to test via VMs.

    Posted 06/12/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfectly for me. I use on: - Windows 10 x64 Home Single Language - Windows 10 x64 Pro

    Posted 04/22/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works flawlessly. I needed to format an external drive formatted with Ext2. I tried a couple of other programs that fell just short. This saved me a lot of time and effort. Thank you.

    Posted 03/31/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great for accessing your Linux partitions from with in Windows 7 x86_64. Installs and just works in minutes.

    Posted 03/05/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not work for UEFI Partions OS 64 bits

    Posted 12/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Good, thanks

    Posted 11/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not work on Windows 7 x64. When trying to Change the settings of the Linux partition to assign a drive letter and mount it, it says the service is not started, although it is, and nothing happens. After a reboot, the drive letter is assigned, but with a question mark and still not accessible.. Have uninstalled this stante pede.

    Posted 11/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After installing, program dit not respond but used a lot of system resources, failed to read any ext partition. Rebooted twice, same problems. After uninstalling, computer would not shut down (no problems before). Switched it off manually. Rebooted, performed a system restore: computer crashed; this program is like a virus. Had to do a full system repair to get my computer booting again. Total fail. Beware!

    Posted 11/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    essential tool for bridging windows and linux ext file systems

    Posted 09/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashy crashy crashcrash. Installed the driver, plugged in a ext2 file system device, and tadaa, system dead. Reboot. I'll let the event log speak: "The device G:\ (location (unknown)) is offline due to a user-mode driver crash. Windows will attempt to restart the device 5 more times. Please contact the device manufacturer for more information about this problem." It's a 32 bit driver too - very up to date, you see. Now to the rating: Ease: Good = Easily crash your system. Features: 1 = There is a single feature, it crashes your system. Design: Poor = No error message is displayed. Your system just freezes. Support: Poor = No help anywhere, just an uninstall program. Which also freezes until I reboot the system.

    Posted 08/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The ext2fsd's window will not show up on Windows 10, so it's impossible to use this program. I opened the issue for this problem.

    Posted 07/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is what I want! Smooth and Simple! Loved it :D

    Posted 05/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works as intended. very smooth and very easy to use and does the job seamless in the background

    Posted 04/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent piece of software. V0.66 perfect.

    Posted 04/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the best solution for using your ext drives in Windows. The latest release works perfectly Windows 10.

    Posted 03/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The splash after initial startup hung around for a while and I worried that it was failing based on some other comments but I just had to wait. I like the improvements that have been made on this program since I last used it: automatic startup and mounting settings within the program itself make it more convenient-feeling for me. Good job devs :) Thank you very much.

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seems to work. However, I didn't test it very well, yet.

    Posted 12/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please note that the splash remains on screen, at least under win10, and makes Ext2File useless on 10 inch screen that several new note books offer. I cannot rate the application because I was unable to use it on an hp 2 in 1 with 10.1 screen.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works perfect on Windows 10 :)

    Posted 10/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not work in Windows 10 .

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Ext2-4 driver for Windows

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool. A bit slow on 1st startup, but then it's amazing. Thank you very much, developer.

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes. For sanity, I did a comparison afterwards and everything was there.

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had a 2TB Western Digital NAS drive that just wouldn't work on the network. I took out the hard drive and accessed it on my Windows 8.1 machine using Ext2Fsd. I was able to copy 200GB of data from an EXT4 partition off the drive onto my PC hard drive in about 15 minutes.

    Posted 05/17/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks