Ext2 File System Driver for Windows Icon

A Linux ext2/ext3 file system driver for Windows

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
78
2
3
0
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not work on Windows 7 x64. When trying to Change the settings of the Linux partition to assign a drive letter and mount it, it says the service is not started, although it is, and nothing happens. After a reboot, the drive letter is assigned, but with a question mark and still not accessible.. Have uninstalled this stante pede.

    Posted 11/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After installing, program dit not respond but used a lot of system resources, failed to read any ext partition. Rebooted twice, same problems. After uninstalling, computer would not shut down (no problems before). Switched it off manually. Rebooted, performed a system restore: computer crashed; this program is like a virus. Had to do a full system repair to get my computer booting again. Total fail. Beware!

    Posted 11/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashy crashy crashcrash. Installed the driver, plugged in a ext2 file system device, and tadaa, system dead. Reboot. I'll let the event log speak: "The device G:\ (location (unknown)) is offline due to a user-mode driver crash. Windows will attempt to restart the device 5 more times. Please contact the device manufacturer for more information about this problem." It's a 32 bit driver too - very up to date, you see. Now to the rating: Ease: Good = Easily crash your system. Features: 1 = There is a single feature, it crashes your system. Design: Poor = No error message is displayed. Your system just freezes. Support: Poor = No help anywhere, just an uninstall program. Which also freezes until I reboot the system.

    Posted 08/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please note that the splash remains on screen, at least under win10, and makes Ext2File useless on 10 inch screen that several new note books offer. I cannot rate the application because I was unable to use it on an hp 2 in 1 with 10.1 screen.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On Windows 7 64 bit with 1 SSD, 2 SATA drives and USB3 it quietly worked incorrectly. I connected 2 2TB drives (both formatted as Ext3, one empty) using USB3 enclosures, then copied the entire contents of one drive to the other. The "from" drive had 893GB free and the "to" drive started out with 1810GB free. After the copy completed the "to" drive had 1810GB free but less than half the directories existed. I've no idea where the data went to. Sorry but as far as I'm concerned this software is worthless. I'm not prepared to waste more time on it by providing debug info. I achieved my copy by booting up a SystemRescueCd containing Linux and copying the data using that.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks! Very good projects.

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incorrectly recognized my EXT4 filesystems as EXT3, one of thee filesystems mounted and was available for read access. My 3rd GPT EXT4 2.5tb partition caused Windows 7 to BSOD twice, for a OS bridge this important it's remarkable that the GUI and open filesystem sucks this bad. /sigh Also - no updates in more than a year to the #1 used linux filesystem running on the #1 OS in the world? What an apocalyptic age we're coming to!

    Posted 01/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it doesnot support write in ext4. only read is supported. when will this be available for ext4 ( the write and expand feature)???

    Posted 10/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed on Windows7 x64, started, tried to mount ext3 partition, nothing happened. Forced admin-mode etc. nothing... uninstalled.

    Posted 03/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, I Tried 0.50 and 0.51 Ext2Fsd version with Windows XP SP3, but I have too many problems with them. For example, all my files created with a french accent (É for example, or ï ) can't be opened anymore on a EXT4 file external hard drive. Such a pity !!! I used Premiere Pro CS4 for making video, and both versions don't allow me to open my projects anymore. It takes a neverending time to open. It was very stressfull for me, you can trust me. So back to version 0.48, that gives me not this kind of problems. Will they soon be fixed ?

    Posted 01/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Slower than Ext2IFS. Uses an exceptional amount of memory (nearly a full gig) on Win7 x64 with a 1TB drive mounted RAID0. Still doesn't reliably support running .exes from a mounted drive. Also mauled perfectly valid UCS-2 filenames.

    Posted 08/18/2010

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks