eSpeak: speech synthesis Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
47
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ironically funny, yet professional voice.

    Posted 04/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is brilliant I've finally found what seems to be what I was looking for. Thank you, you've made me like this site so much more!

    Posted 11/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loving this on Linux Lite. Using it for Scratch projects. Needed 120 sound files for 2345Tables project. So quick on command line.

    Posted 08/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect on my Ubuntu system. I love ! It works on my RaspBerryPi too

    Posted 02/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is great! It is very simple, user friendly, and supports many languages​​, and I can see that there is an option to create a pause between words when generating speech, which is particularly important to me, but I don't understand how it works? Can someone explain to me? PLEASE HELP! My e-mail is: vladimirvasovicns@gmail.com I DESPERATELY need text-to-speech software for dictation that should be slow enough so that humans can write it on the paper, but I don't know how to make pauses between words in eSpeak.

    Posted 06/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A+

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent multiplatform, multi-language text-to-speech engine. Very easy to communicate with. Adds a great value to my otherwise speechless app. Thank you for creating this wonderful tool, and for sharing it for free.

    Posted 02/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using this program for a creative writing project that I am undertaking. It's very useful to be able to have what I've written played back, so I can hear when something is wrong with what I have written. This program is quick, easy to use, and the option to save as a wav file is very handy. Thank you very much!

    Posted 10/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Espeak works wonderful.

    Posted 06/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Espeak, it's perfect!

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Espeak is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 06/02/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In one word: Awesome! eSpeak is an amazing project! If you just want some text read out loud, or saved to a WAV file, you can paste it into the TTSApp and click a button. If you want to process a batch of text files, or SSML documents, there's a handy command line interface. Seriously awesome stuff here and extremely easy to use. I've been using eSpeak while editing poetry and prose to get a general feel of how the writing sounds out loud. Sure, the voice is missing the intonation and some of the inflection but, the intonation and inflection I'd get from bothering a friend to read hundreds of pages of unfinished work would be . . . inaccurate to put it nicely. To improve the reading of poetry I use the -l command line option set to 75 characters. It makes eSpeak put a very short pause at every line break on lines shorter than 75 characters. This also helps when reading prose because titles, subtitles, and headings are often quite short and lack punctuation. To have eSpeak use several voices in a single file I use the SSML markup language. It is truly amazing! I just wrap the bits of text for each different character with some simple markup telling eSpeak which voice to use and BAM! I get multiple characters reading the file like magic!

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work ! Great project.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you guys for your work!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love that its free

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Espeak is a great speech synthesis system for free, which is good for developing a new languages for this synthesizer.

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    input this URL: ( h t t p : / / w w w . b u y 2 m e . n e t / ) you can find many cheap and high stuff Believe you will love it. WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARD /WESTERN UNION PAYMENT YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

    Posted 12/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am using espeak text to speech into my one of application and i want to submit that application to apple store does google.espeak allows to use the espeak libraries in paid applications ? and how i can change voice from male to female and also i want to insert more languages any suggetions Regards Ammad.Emy

    Posted 12/02/2012
Show next 23 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks