Eraser Icon

A security tool to remove sensitive data from your Windows hard drive

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
75
4
1
0
31
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The "Eraser6.2.0.2971-NoRuntimes.exe" doesn't work, luckily the "Eraser6.2.0.2970.exe" works just fine in Win10

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply open it with 7zip and choose either x86 or x64! I will admit that it was odd it required windows explorer to be closed (windows 10 x64)

    Posted 01/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Guys! extract it with 7zip and you get 2 installer one (x86) and (x64). hope it helped.

    Posted 12/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What is this 'NoRuntimes" crap? On 64-bit Windows 10, using either double-click to run the installer or right-click and "Run as Administrator" causes an "Extracting files" window to open for a split second then immediately close. Nothing extracts or installs. I had to download and install with the regular installer (well, I suppose it's 'regular' because it's not named 'NoRuntimes') of 6.2 and it installed fine. Of course you get the "A newer version of .NET is already installed" error, but simply close that window and the installation successfully completes. Are the developers even testing the installer against common, modern OS's? .

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you to eraser.heidi.ie 1) Save file, 2) Right-click so Avast AV can sweep it, 3) Left-click install, 4) .NET framework auto install, 5) Shell integration okay, 6) Right-click to Erase. Seamless on this 64-bit PC. First rate. Thanks.

    Posted 08/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome

    Posted 01/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best FOSS Secure Deletion Program, and Please Update it ASAP

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    after finally getting the external box for my misbehaving broken-screen laptop's 160G hd, trying to drop all of its contents to the archival 2TB drive for later perusal? (there was some good stuff on there!) used "unlocker" to get some of the last dregs off to the Recycle Bin, where they held on tough! tried again to get ALL of the DocsandSets off, failed again, and wiped the bugger clean, and tried to get those "unlockeds" out of the REcycleBin more and more, with restarts and mean stares, the Windows Fix-It page that didn't seem to load right, said it uncorrupted my RecBin, but didn't I guess, still in there, but found Eraser while actually "long" formatting the irksome drive (my first time not quick!) and we're 43min in, and almost there! Eraser worked swell for cleaning my bin, thank you! now to install XP for 36 hours, and I'll be good! 45 min in, only 2 little progress blocks to go on the format! down to one!

    Posted 12/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good Software.

    Posted 05/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very unusual idea for the open source project, however the program is implemented very well and always useful to believers

    Posted 04/24/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't care for the version 6. Too much stuff I don't use. The version 5 is what I use. It's plain and simple doing what I want it to do when I want it to do it.

    Posted 03/10/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job! Tnx for sharing.

    Posted 03/06/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool, help me remove the data i don't want to be saved.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recomendo

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm still giving eraser the 'thumbs up,' but my favorite version was one of the first Portable App Tools where it was self-contained and cautious. Some of the bells and whistles were good, but I fear version 6 just keeps getting deeper into feature bloat and overkill. I'd criticise technical approach, but people I respect for their knowledge in the community have already given them the green light on that.

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is really great! Does what it says! I really like its coder autocomplete feature. Keep up the good work! Thanks to all the developers.

    Posted 09/29/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks