DxWnd Icon

beta

Window hooker to run fullscreen programs in window and much more...

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
41
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program saved the life of an older gamer many times. It's a bit unclear where all the options are for for an inexperienced user like myself, but even with the default settings I can play some games in Windows 10 that doesn't work anymore out of the box.

    Posted 10/09/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an incredibly useful program for running old Windows 98 and XP games on modern hardware. Some games I never thought I would get running again work.

    Posted 10/07/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Only thanks to this project old games do not go into oblivion! Brilliant work.

    Posted 07/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project !

    Posted 06/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    .

    Posted 06/04/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome programm! Running old games now much easier, forced windowed mode works perfectly! Thank you!

    Posted 01/06/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best software to run old games on modern hardware and OS. Two thumbs up

    Posted 12/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gho does an excellent job with program and helping people solve issues the best he can

    Posted 12/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great bit of software. Works well, great support for games, lots of options and a very helpful dev

    Posted 11/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Program, constantly updated. New features added all the time. Priceless.

    Posted 11/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Handles DirectDraw games very well on my Windows 7 x64

    Posted 05/27/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful tool for older games and the guy who made it is really willing to help.

    Posted 05/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great and useful tool!

    Posted 03/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not only you may run your game in windowed mode, but sometimes if the game doesn't run, there is a serious possibility that with DxWnd it may run BTW. An excellent piece of full proof software, and a fantastich support by the auther.

    Posted 02/08/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The software I've been looking for a long time. Helps me play older games with non-blurry scaling, proper input and excellent interaction with a modern Windows desktop.

    Posted 07/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been looking for something like this for years! I can finally play my old games the way o want. It just needs some time to get used to the loads of features but it works like a charm ;)

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The DxWnd project is a very nice supplement to older PC games. Most PC games in the past didn't have a play in window option. I began using it and I was... HOOKED... just like the application has been designed to do. It's nice to see someone continuing the project to help make multitasking while gaming much easier. So, thanks gho! It still leaves room for improvement but doesn't everything? =D Good Day - All!

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a wonderful program that makes old games playable on Windows 8.1 and on. Thanks so much for your hard work!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does exactly what it's described to do: Making older programs and games work in windowed mode and sometimes even enables them to work at all on modern machines! gho is also really active in the forums.

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DxWnd is amazing, without it I wouldn't even bother going back to revisit older games. It's a little daunting at first to setup because of the vast amount of options, but gho (the developer) is super helpful, just make a post about your game and he'll help you set the thing up, or he'll just fix DxWnd to work with your game. 6/5 Stars.

    Posted 12/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful program and best of all it works!

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super helpful developer, super useful program. It's the ONLY way to fix certain games like Hoyle Casino Empire in w8.

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really great piece of software, driven by a developer who's both active and supportive.

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you're having a problem, post in the forum! The creator is very hands-on and willing to try to tackle whatever challenges a particular game presents.

    Posted 10/29/2014
Show next 19 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks