DVDStyler Icon

A cross-platform DVD authoring application

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
115
9
5
4
32
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I simply love DVD Styler!! I had been using stuff from Pinnacle, and Cyberlink, and even Movavi, and yet I prefer the FREE DVD Styler? It is so easy to use, and so nicely laid out. Kudos to the creators! I am highly recommending this program to my past students and fellow video production teachers!

    Posted 06/16/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this on both windows and Ubuntu. Windows install is easier. I edit the xml files to make similar DVDs, but also just use the interface for slide menu design.

    Posted 04/28/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've had some commercial DVD programs, and have tried some other open source offerings. I like this one best of them all, as it gives good results, plenty of features and is quite intuitive to use. Maybe now I can sort out the mess of videos I've made of family outings and such. Great for making DVDs' for Grandparents, and ourselves as well.

    Posted 03/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This review is for the: DVDStyler-3.0.2-win64. I just installed it a few hours ago, and it is working as I need. On the installation I didn't see any malware trying to spoil my browser. I am autoring simple DVDs from mkv files without any menu - for this files I don't need it - so I haven't tried menu yet. I erase the default menu that shows in the timeline. Up to now, my files have subtitles and they work fine. I still have to chose a pleasing size and letter font, but it is great that I can chose it and that you have to chose to show it when watching the DVD or it will be played without titles (at least in my VLC setup). I tried several sets before going into the files I want autor DVD from and I chose to use 8Mbit/s for video bitrate - It would be nice to have a minimal, target and maximal settings or at least, minimal and maximal settings. 320 KBit/s for audio; video format NTSC 720 x 480; aspect ratio 16:9; On the audio format I tried to use PCM on audio exit from AC3 original but it didn't work, so I left it on AC3, just hope it will play on normal stand alone players. 2 pass VBR is mandatory in any file transcoding - HQ and XHQ selected, but XHQ goes off after you close and reopen the window. I still have to try to autor DVD from MTS files. The preview felt to show the DVD using VLC (I did not tried others), but afterwards, VLC plaid it by dragging the IFO file on it, as it does with any DVD. I didn't need to read the help file to use it, meaning the commands are intuitive for someone with reasonable knowledge of the subject and it is directed for those who want to make a menu. But it did not answer some of my questions that could improve the quality of the final file - although it maintained almost as good as the original. I never heard of "CBR" on the enconder type and didn't find in the help what it is on the help. The help does not explain the differences and characteristics of chosen aspects: Econder: Internal (?) or ffmpeg-vbr (?) The time it took to autor the DVD files was very good, it was less than the time it would take to watch the files. PS.: I am not rating the support for I haven't used it. Although I haven't tried all it's features, I give it 5, for it worked on what I need. All and all it is a excellent tool, I recommend it. Thank you very much.

    Posted 12/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I now use DVDStyler exclusively to produce DVD compilations of favourite movie shorts. It is quite intuitive and I have even designed my own menus as well as using those provided as standard.

    Posted 12/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it, I'm no longer making cup holders with holes in them.

    Posted 09/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A keeper! :)

    Posted 07/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nvm, the program is excellent compared to others.

    Posted 12/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    THIS IS A NICE PRODUCT! I USED IT TO CREATE MY OWN MOVIE DVD! TCM 3D! THE THING I'D LIKE TO SEE IS BETTER AND FASTER SUPPORT FOR THINGS LIKE COMPILING THE PROGRAM, ETC...

    Posted 12/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used several versions of DVDStyler and have liked all of them. I have never had any problem with malware from any of the installs, but I have downloaded from SourceForge every time. It's a great program. I have made many nice DVDs with it and expect to make many more. Thanks Alex!

    Posted 12/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By far, the best and most versatile open-source DVD authoring program. From being able to use video for menu backgrounds, to creating picture slideshows, this program does so much more than just encode video files to DVD.

    Posted 10/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and powerful when converting multiple types of videos.

    Posted 10/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great piece of software - easy to understand UI and works perfectly :) One tip: make sure your video encoding matches the project - I tried to put NTSC videos into a PAL project and they were garbled. There's an option that lets it encode it properly for you in the main application settings dialog :)

    Posted 08/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just started using DVDStyler it is a great program, the learning curve is fairly low. It's being updated (Current Ver. 2.9.3) just the other day in fact. It's way better than dvdflick. I'm using DVDStyler 64bit ver. 2.9.3 on Windows 7 Home 64-bit. I haven't seen any problems yet. You can create a really professional looking custom menus in a few minutes, with it's drag and drop, WYSIWYG interface and the included backgrounds and buttons. Plus you can use your own custom made backgrounds and buttons . Creating a new custom button was surprising easy, You just need a program like "Inkscape" which can save as a .svg file and a Texteditor to copy and paste a few lines of code that are posted. There are actually two different kinds of buttons the normal ones and one I called a frame button which can show a movie clip in it. Documentation could be better, it's lagging behind the current version number. (plus it doesn't tell you how to create the custom buttons, I found some online tutorials for that (in fact I just wrote and posted one on how to make the frame buttons on the sourceforge discussion page.). A lot of the information posted online is for older versions though, but is still useful. The sourceforge discussion forum doesn't have much traffic either. As for the warnings about added crapware, I haven't seen any in the newest version installer. I think it might depend on where you download it from or if it is a older version. I downloaded the latest from the authors site dvdstyler .org which downloads from sourceforge. Now I haven't tried burning a dvd using the built in burner, I create a ISO image first and mount it as a virtual drive ( I use PortableWinCDEmu-4.0 to mount the ISO), to play it first and check that everything works right before burning. Then I use imgburn to burn the actual disk, this was a great tip I saw, you just about eliminate burning a coaster.

    Posted 07/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By Far the best and easiest DVD authoring tool out there. Easier than commercial applications. I looked at all the free ones. I tried them all. I tried the one with the most positive reviews. What a waste of time. So, I read the features. DVDStyler only had 2 comments versus hundreds for #1. But, as I read I had a feeling this was it. I found a video on Youtube. Five minutes later, I was authoring DVDs from AVI, MP4 M4V & MKV files. This does everything in one step. Most others required many steps. Menus were difficult in all the others I tried. DVDStyler was so easy. I would give this 10 stars if possible 5 Stars are not enough. The bloatware and crapware was easy enough to avoid. I never allow a default instal NEVER. That is stupid. So, this never installed anything other than the actual program. Those who are giving this one star, are not being fair. This is simply an amazing tool.

    Posted 07/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software!

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best free DVD-creation software I've been able to find. The comments about bundled malware are misinformed (at best; hysterical at worst). The installer will install a common search toolbar and change your home page, if you don't specifically opt out of these, and instead click on the 'basic' or 'recommended' options. As much as I don't like this way of doing things, it has become so common that anyone with any familiarity with downloading free software should be well aware of it, and should therefore take the appropriate care when installing a new program. If you weren't aware of this, you should be grateful that the installation of such relatively-benign, easily-removable programs/changes enlightened you; the lesson could have been much nastier. In short, we're getting good, reliable software for free; we shouldn't be whining that we have to pay attention for a few seconds while we're installing it, lest we end up with a Yahoo toolbar we don't want (and which will take another few seconds to get rid of).

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this program for many years (5 or 6) under Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X. There have been very few times that I lost my cool with it and cursed at it (like I have with many other programs). The developer respects the GPL and provides access to the source code (C++) through a CVS repository. The claims that this has malware, virus, or trojans are false. To be fair to those complaining there are optional adware programs within the Windows .exe file. These are Optional and Not Malicious (though there may be a small argument for harmful, via using system resources). The developer has a right to be able to solicit funding and I do not shame him for this approach. Also, lo4d.com has tested it with many antivirus and malware scanning programs, and came up negative. Thank you for reading.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 01/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just what I have been looking for. Since leaving the world of Windows one of the few things I've missed was an easy way to make DVDs that have menus and chapters.

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic Project with even more amazing potential. I wish I could code C++ in order to help. Thanks for everything that this developer does - Truly Amazing

    Posted 11/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i did this dvdstyler for the 4 projects of/from EU, need more features for stability, needs auto-help-feedback..

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an excellent tool for authoring DVDs and it's even better that it is free. People have made comments about malware being installed but you can avoid installing anything you don't want by paying attention to the options you are given during the install process. The developer has obviously put much time and effort into this and has created a versatile, intuitive application. This is one of the few free applications I have felt compelled to donate cash to as I'd love to see future releases continue to build on and improve this product. Nice one.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    success at first click :))

    Posted 08/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks