DVD Flick Icon

A simple but powerful DVD authoring tool

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
38
2
3
1
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded this tool, and I guess it worked, but the picture quality went down a bit, and the audio and video got out of sync by about half a second, I see the lips moving after the talking in the movie stops, I compared it to the copy of the movie on the computer and the sync is off, is there a fix for it?

    Posted 12/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To address concerns of previous reviews: I use build 1.3.0.2, and it works reasonably well with SRT files (lots of customization options), but with MKVs, you need Xvid4PSP to convert your MKV to a hard subbed AVI. As for taking a while to process the audio track from an MP4 video file, make sure the audio is not encoded in AAC with any extensions like SBR. The version of FFmpeg included with DVD Flick doesn't know that particular flavor. I use VLC to identify when the audio track has an SBR AAC encoding, and then I use Mediacoder 0.7.5.4797 to encode an MP3 from those files - you just disable video processing and get a stand alone MP3 audio file which you can add in place of the MP4's audio track which you can remove and replace separately. It's one of DVD Flick's strengths. It's also very picky about characters in filenames. Any odd characters it doesn't like, certainly no Japanese characters (video not found message), and a curly brace "}" can cause an odd 424 Error. Just rename with a Square Brace "]" and it's fine. Also when I try to pull some MP4s into DVD Flick, it will complain with Video Not Found. Again, I use my version of Media Coder to Copy the streams into a new MP4 file. Yes it can do this (and can fix errant AVIs with bad or missing indexes, too). It will have a slightly more byte count - apparently this provides an index or something to fix the file format and usually DVD Flick likes that new file. I should try build 1.3.0.7 to see if it will use sources bigger than 1GB.

    Posted 11/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When converting from MKV containing subtitle.The output Video doesn't contain subtitle.

    Posted 07/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good software!

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exelente proyecto Lo único que le encuentro de malo es que tarda mucho en convertir

    Posted 02/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The interface is easy to use and it has nice features; however, it takes decades while converting 11 mp4 files into a DVD. The video encoding is done really fast; however, after 3 hours, it is still encoding the first audio track from 11. This is frustrating.

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    using win/8.1 sound issue but was fixable in sound edit never had to adj sound issue before but everything else works so far.i rated design poor because of the sound sync issue hopefully it will get fixed.but thanks dvd flick for the free program can't complain about the price !

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I could fit the videos I ever wanted in a DVD for free with this handy tool without having to use other crappy software. It would be perfect if we could edit the video menus, like live thumbnails and adding custom grid thumbs. But either way I highly recommend it for DVD general purposes.

    Posted 01/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used DVDflick for 4 years. It was ideal for my purposes. Unfortunately, with the latest updates to Windows 7, it has become basically unusable, gnerating "error 53: file not found" error at the end of every attempt to create a DVD. Looking for something else now that provides very simple, basic DVD autoring.

    Posted 01/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The included DVD menus aren't very stylish by modern design standards, and although you can download more, it requires more effort and knowledge than the bottom-rung user should be expected to know. Still, it DOES what it advertises: It allows one to burn video files to a DVD (and if they're too big, will automatically encode them to fit with an acceptable trade-off in quality), and the installer contains no crapware.

    Posted 09/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dvdflick works perfect.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dvdflick works excellent.

    Posted 06/04/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple, fast and intuitive to use. You wont find better.

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I needed something lightweight. this does the job beautifully, if maybe a bit slow. It is not running as well on multiple cores as I believe was the intention.. It must be an issue with, or with the use of, ffmpeg. Great work! Thanks

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, thanks a ton for posting

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quite a good program, but i did notice that even with my i7 920 and the threads set to 4 only a single core reached >80% utilization. A quick Google revealed I'm not the only user having this issue either.

    Posted 03/29/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple. Useful. Light.

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program dvdflick.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very rarely updates

    Posted 10/03/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program dvdflick.

    Posted 09/08/2012
Show next 23 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks