DOSBox Icon

An Open Source DOS emulator to run old DOS games

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
159
4
0
0
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Got this to work in a TS environment as a RemoteApp. +++ YAY! Thanks DOSbox!

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for this excellent project! Through it I am having fun again with some of the original dev tools I had back in the late 80s and 90s (asm/basic/C/C++). Keep up the great work!

    Posted 03/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The only one working cross platform.

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for making it possible to use the Disk Operation/Operating System available to the NT and *NIX kernel. I play all my legacy games with it.

    Posted 02/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1.) Compatibility: It is excellent, it plays every DOS game that i have ever played without any problems, if any problems are discovered, they get fixed quickly. I own 300+ DOS games and some of them are DOS/Win9X hybrid games. 2.) Speed/Frame rate: The speed is way better than DOSBox v0.73, YKhwong Daum and even GOG.com's with all games, for example: games like Duke3D, Blood, Shadow Warrior, Privateer - The Darkening, Terminator - FS, Skynet, and Dungeon Keeper, which are a few good examples of 3D games. No slowdowns. 3.) Size: It is such a small program. Very efficient. There are some alternative programs with way bigger software code / libraries, where the program files take up a lot of space for just the emulators themselves. VMWare and VirtualBox for example, emulating Win9X takes up way too many Gigabytes. 4.) One drawback... Win9x used to install, and run on a DOS underlying OS, so I wish DosBox will one day successfully emulate Win9x with proper Direct 3d Support for DOS games which can dual run in DOS and Win9X like Blood, Wing Commander IV and so on.. 5.) Suggestion: Please add a speed function, like a SLOMO function. NES/PCSXE/PCSX/MAME emulators all have it, it is ultra cool to blow something up at 50% of the original speed, but with a fluid framerate without sticking, Syndicate Wars had a built in frame rate limiter to slow down game speed when pressing the "-" minus sign when the combat gets heavy, it helps.... Maybe it can be implemented? 6.) Lastly there are dudes who badmouth this project, if you are a newbie, please try a frontend to assist with your shortcomings, and thank the people of this project for their sacrificial work and dedication.

    Posted 12/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very much

    Posted 12/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Many thanks for this program. I was able to pull code from a Basica application writen in 1995 which is used in hardware testing at an aviation repair facility.

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well, there isn't even any real competition to this project, and the compatibility is nothing short of amazing. If it's a PC game that was released between 1981 and the end of the DOS era, chances are you'll be able to play it on DOSBox. The software is nothing short of amazing. It's true that the learning curve is a bit difficult for newcomers, but it comes a bit with the complexity of what the software is doing. So a little setup will always be required to get games installed and running, especially considering the wide variety of software DOSBox supports. The documentation is not that bad though. If you're having trouble, I would recommend you have a look at some front-end projects that include helpers and easier workflows. I've heard good things about D-Fend Reloaded, which has preconfigured templates for many games, so in many cases you can just drag a game folder on the front-end and it will set DOSBox up accordingly. And shame on you, mad5cientist, for spouting these unfounded accusations and downvoting the project for this. These fake reviews are very obviously dumb spambots that didn't realise that their comments fail to link to their spam sites. Which Google would have told you within seconds (same comments posted to many other SF projects, and on thousands of other websites with comment posting functionality).

    Posted 03/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EXCELLENT! Even runs some of the older disk utilities that only worked under DOS. For instance on Win7, I was able to image a disk and copy its entire OS over to a new drive. Granted it wasn't terabytes-worth, but it worked. If you are a beginner and can't understand the instructions, don't use this free program. You probably shouldn't be using a computer either. Go find something else to do, like weaving.

    Posted 03/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An amazing program for people who are looking to relive their fondest memories of early PC gaming - the DOS era. Although not extremely easy to use, it is flexible and feature-rich. It is geared towards games, so if you want to run some databases, you might want to look into proper virtualization solutions.

    Posted 02/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is brilliant software. It allows me to use Autodesk's "Animate Pro" on Windows 7 - this an old but excellent piece of software I thought I could no longer use. When the next version comes out I will make another donation. Since some people doubt the authenticity of these reviews you can email me at john_@_easypeasy_dot_co_dot_uk (remove the "_" and replace dot with "." ) to check.

    Posted 07/21/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. Using it on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. Worked out of the box.

    Posted 05/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It woiks poifect from WIN XP Pro, SP3 !!! I run the "Scorcher" DOS game and flight sims I made with "Flight Simulator Toolkit". Other than that I would have to hook up my old Pentium II MMX an get into DOS 6.22 from WIN 95 :)

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please correct me if I am wrong, but the DOSBox DOES support capturing screenshots no matter what the active DOS application is. Simply press Ctrl+F5 as often you wish and find the PNG pictures in the c:\users\(uname)\AppData\Local\DOSBox\capture directory. The same holds for the captured AVI screen videos (Ctrl+Alt+F5). The DOSBox Status Window reveals the path and the filenames stored. Good luck!

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks!)))+1

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks!)))

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! This is the best emulator that I have seen

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    PERFECT.

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple the best

    Posted 05/21/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    UP for this project!

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks