DocFetcher Icon

Desktop search application

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
67
4
1
2
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a really powerful search engine for your files. I use this to search network attached drives as well as my local disks. It is way more powerful than the standard windows 7 search facility. It can be prone to crashing when building large indexes such as enourmous network drives. The user interface is outdated, but hey, who cares? it does the job!

    Posted 11/10/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program. I'm using it to create portable document repos for our attorneys to take to trial. I've also used the portable version to create office wide indexes, and I've sent client versions (no rights to build, delete, update, etc) of the portable program to others in the office.

    Posted 10/20/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A fantastic program, a shame it is not commercially supported. I would happily pay a lot for this, it is way better than the commercial packages I have tried. My job relies heavily on search in our own archives, and for this DocFetcher is fantastic. Would have loved it to be as good in picture search (doesn't bring up the images), but for free you can't have it all.

    Posted 10/09/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Admirable utility. Stumbled a little coming out of the gate (needed to reinstall java), but appears to be exactly what I was hoping for.

    Posted 10/05/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A good idea, but has some really irritating problems for a new user. I suppose that what comes of putting yourself on a pedestal of excellence. the UI could be a lot improved. its very easy to delete an index that contains thousands of indexed docs without being warned about it. And indexing run to crash and lose the regexes that you laboriously entered.

    Posted 08/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great product when used on desktop mode I have figured it out to work every time, but still having issues trying to get network index files working using portable version. Generally a terrific tool.

    Posted 08/18/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This looked like exactly what I needed to index a backlog of emails. Unfortunately, after install on a Mac PowerBook Pro with Sierra, the application would not launch. No indication of what the problem was. So my search goes on for a simple indexing tool. Maybe I'll have to roll my own...

    Posted 07/21/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm speechless! I've spent hours and hours looking for an alternative solution to Windows Search to search my archived outlook emails. (Windows Search has **** the bed, and it's been a nightmare). I have downloaded and tried all the programs I could find out there. X1, Lookeen, ...I don't even want to list them all, as I'm already getting a headache thinking about them. FINALLY! Source Forge NAILS IT! AGAIN! sorry for the caps. I don't usually digress to that, but I'm so happy to have found DocFetcher! It speaks to what Source Forge is all about to me, Open, Free, Top Shelf Programming, Visionary, Small Foot print, Ultra Fast, need I go on? Seriously though, This little tiny program with the Sandy logo, just kicked all the High Cost, Over Built, Over Produced, Complicated programs in the Keister! That is why I'm speechless. Thankfully, my fingers are not. GOOD SHOW! WELL DONE! You know, I've been utilizing Source Forge's fruits for years. They deserve a lot of credit, seriously folks. Thank You!

    Posted 05/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very very good guys. solved my win7-Oo search problem pronto. Appreciated, Jim

    Posted 05/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a lovely application, designed exactly the way I wanted for a local-disk alternative to Evernote: instead of trusting all of your personal and business data in a cloud (now owned by Google/NSA), you can search your own files right where they are! Sadly, the app was written in Java, which is great for cross-platform use, but horrible if you have anything more than a mundane collection of files. At least in Linux, where I roam, anything more than 10K files (even when indexed as separate folders) Java maxes out memory and CPU and soon locks up the app. After spending a day trying to tweak this from the developer suggestions, my up-to-date Java simply would not behave. At some point it's simply more trouble than it's worth. I hope one day this otherwise-awesome application will be ported to C# (or equiv.) for real users with real-sized data needs.

    Posted 05/17/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect. working as expected. works on windows 7 64 bit + set JAVA_HOME to 64 bit java

    Posted 03/30/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded the product from a non-English-speaking country and this app simply assumes I necessarily want the interface to be in the non-English language. This, while painfully primitive interface exposes no option to change the language.

    Posted 01/26/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filled a need to enable efficiently search across networked documents.

    Posted 01/09/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Splendid text search tool. Lightning fast, very stable, and incredibly useful for finding text and phrases inside of many file types. The UI could be more graphical to improve ease of use (for example, there is no ribbon as found in MS Word or the like). But that's just a quibble. If you're looking for a text search tool, this is the only one you will ever need.

    Posted 12/01/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best option out there.

    Posted 10/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DocFetcher must be considered a remarkable program in any company, paid or free. The GUI is simple, easy to understand and unique among free search programs, providing both instant search results, the ability to both scroll between hits and to read all of the text of any file containing hits, as well to directly open any file of interest in its native viewing program. The accompanying documentation is excellent and the support offered by the author is second to nothing. I have used the program to test search a set of rtf files comprising about 50,000 pages of text as well to search another 1100 pages of text in pdf format. The results have been exemplary, in no way falling behind the capabilities of certain high profile programs with which I have compared it. Individual words, pairs of words, phrases, file names and content titles can be instantly found with ease and reliability. Word proximity searching is provided as well as other more advanced search means. The scope of each search can be determined according to the users preference at the time. To the extent that I have used DocFetcher to date, I recommend DocFetcher without hesitation or reserve. Although DocFetcher is offered free of change, some things in life are worth paying for and this is one of them.

    Posted 08/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unique documents indexing software, like no other does the job

    Posted 07/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found this program extremely helpful in locating keywords in my documents, I looked at other options regarding Windows search and OSX Spotlight search methods but neither word for me until I used DocFetcher. This program is so amazing!

    Posted 07/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Needs more improvement and searching ability.

    Posted 03/11/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project. Multiuser native support would be good improvement.

    Posted 02/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am unable to use it on 64bit win7 ultimate. I read at some place that it works with only 32bit java. Please provide version with 64bit java. Thanks Anil

    Posted 12/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work, really useful piece of software.

    Posted 11/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having moved to a Mac platform, I was caught needing a file search and preview capability to help me fill out RFIs and RFPs. DocFetcher to the rescue! Does exactly what I need quickly and easily. Would love to have some keyboard shortcuts to be able to jump to different windows. Thanks for a great utility!!!

    Posted 10/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent product, fast, simple to use and handling a terabyte of data with ease. This is the best full text search engine I've used!

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At my work I have tons of txt and xml files which I have to search for something constantly. This tool is my savior.

    Posted 02/19/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you