Clonezilla Icon

Clonezilla

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (97) Read Reviews | Last Updated
BSD Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (97)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
83
5
1
2
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

It does exactly what it says on the box. Its an essential no messing around utility. If you screw it up it means you haven't read the instructions. It is really that easy.

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

NIC card no longer works. Booting from image, all goes accordingly till system reboot and the legacy os loads (windows). Reinstalled NIC, troubleshooting event logs (shouldn't matter when OS powered down) but I recalled an operation during the cloning process telling me it's notifying/triggering an event within the powered down Windows OS, i figured something might have been corrupted in the registry. I was right but decided it's more work repairing the registry vs doing a fresh reformat of my OS. Thanks for wasting 2 hours of my LIFE!! If this is true, why in the world do you need to trigger ANY events to a user machine offline OS instance if the cloning operation occurs between two independent disk? I understand the latter if mounting the directory to an active volume/disk shared with Windows but in cases like mine (cloning external-to-external HDD), this should run independently. ie. build files/cache in ram disk, and do whatever it is you linux guys do to ensure ZERO impact to users data outside the scope of the source/destination disk. Either way, I just want to share this is a poorly written application from my perspective. You should be more forthcoming about any procedural ramifications to a users data before someone approves a batch process of linux commands to jack up their data and OS. Maybe i'm way off and missed something, but if im not, shame on you jerks.... Either way, your UI is not intuitive. I own Acronis and paid for it but was hoping this had more functionality. Well it does and them some... Including the above.. Thanks again

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    많이 좋아요 굳 ^^b

    Posted 05/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The BEST tool for cloning under any circumstances.

    Posted 03/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program. With prices going down on HD's I've had a lot of upgrade jobs. Sweet outcome all around. I rated support high but didn't need it, bet it would be there.

    Posted 03/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best tool for clone of HD... After I spent half day with AOMEI Partition Assistant and Drive clone (both the same error: "VCC service can't start") I used the Clonezilla and after cca 15min (including installation of Clonezilla to USB) I had new bootable SSD drive. I change 24GB SSD to 64GB SSD mSATA disk on my notebook ASUS K56... Very vell done, perfect tool... Thanks, guys...

    Posted 02/24/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just replaced my old HDD with a new SSD on a dual boot (Windows 10 and Ubuntu 15.10) HP Envy M7 laptop. Used Clonezilla, and everything went smoothly!!! Couldn't ask for a better way to clone a disk. Had zero problems, just did the clone, then installed the new SSD, and everything is working great (just everything is faster now).

    Posted 01/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Clonezilla has never let me done once since I moved over from Ghost over 10 years ago. Occasionally I did not have the right version in hand or missed something myself while doing a disk to disk clone, instead of just disk to image and then restore from image. The new alternative branch with UEFI boot is a very welcome enhancement. I image most critical systems once with Clonezilla and once with Acronis since the new SSDs are shipping with it anyway. Thank You very much for an excellent and well supported tool. If you are a new user and don't understand a word of it, just make extra sure which disk you are choosing, and then just keep selecting defaults.

    Posted 12/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Clonezilla once was a really good piece of software. But with the years, I experienced more and more problems. This are boot problems like: - infinite scanning for USB devices - Clonezilla mode selection screen no shown - no possibility to start in text mode WITHOUT need to enter a parameter - highly increasing memory demand (I often backup quite old machines) - failing to initialize the graphic card even in the simplest mode Sorry guys, this is not funny any more. I'm leaving...

    Posted 09/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not work with windows 10 !!!

    Posted 09/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Why do I restore the system after, the original card ifcfg-eth0 configuration file is invalid, a ifcfg-Auto_eth0 restart the configuration file, the line of command in the new file.

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used this successfully for some years. However, as I upgraded my hardware & OSs over the last 12 months it is less than OK. Constant errors when backing up larger partitions, either warnings "Failed to read memory" & "Do you have strange power management" or fatal errors around "Failed to use partclone program" If it were isolated I'd be examining the hardware, but it's the same on my two new notebooks, HP Microserver and a standard PC, all running Ubuntu based OSs (14.04 LTS). Shame, really. I'll still give it two stars because it used to work and maybe it will again one day. For now I moved to Paragon.

    Posted 05/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just got a 128GB SSD for christmas, my previous "only" had 64 GB. So I plugged the new SSD into the eSATA port, downloaded CloneZilla, installed it onto my USB drive using UNetBootIn and rebooted. Performing a clone was pretty straight-forward (the visual design is poor - don't use if you expect a fancy UI) and only took 1/2 hour. After that I plugged in the new hard drive into my laptop, booted and it just worked! Zero issues, no additional configuration! This is excellent software that gets the job done! Thank you! PS: I going to donate using PayPal as soon as the bank transaction is done, however it be nice if there would be other payment options.

    Posted 12/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the most important programs I use....

    Posted 10/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent product been using for years but it's starting to look dated. It does what it's supposed to do really well but the interface is very clunky (just the wording and order of things) so it could be better! It could also be quicker (don't understand why it has to keep on mounting all the drives all the time, can't it just remember?). Could there be a simpler version just for home backups? There's lots of features which I never use (just do the same thing again and again, can't I get it to remember that)? All in all though it's saved me and my computers a number of times so I'm really just wishing for it to be better still. Nows-nowt

    Posted 10/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool does what it says. dont like the command line though

    Posted 05/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To be honest: Clonezilla isn't as user friendly when you first see it appear on your screen. You'll have to use it a couple of times to get the knack of it. But when you figured out how it works, it just WORKS! And it works absolutely great in every way! I've been using this tool for years, and it NEVER dissappointed me so far. Very recommended!

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great! I have been using Clonezilla for a while and solved our problem. I found little hard and faced issues in installation and configuring (for the first time) but it works perfectly good!!

    Posted 05/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The only issue that I have is that there is that it does not appear as though there isn't a gui. I would enjoy it if there was a gui of somesort. Otherwise as a utility, it works perfectly.

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm only considering using it... I downloaded it, burned it to a CD, and am now doing some reading. Quite frankly the English in the instructions is bad enough that I'm very nervous about using this software. "Select disk for image". Uhhh... ok... is that source or target? How about "Select Source" instead? or "Select Target"? The GUI looks sad and is a relic from days gone by - I should know, I'm also a relic from days gone by. Look at something like k3b.... no, it's not cloning software but it is disk burning software and I was astonished by how professional k3b looked, felt and worked. I didn't need to read anything for k3b, it was simple to use - and considering its complexity, that's no small compliment! In comparison based on all the hype I would have expected clonezilla to be amazing in look, feel and operation. While some people say good things about it, based on some of the reviews/comments here as well as my own first look - it's not an easy piece of software to use and requires some heavy duty brain cycles to understand and use properly. Not sure I want to spend the time, or take the chance I might not get it right. Designers should take a hard look at something like k3b and give clonezilla a complete makeover. It's not 1990 anymore.

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent and with exceptional results! Was able to rescue my sister's laptop hard disk to an external which appeared to duplicate everything quickly as I watched in happy amazement. Bless your efforts as they are appreciated here!

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've only recently started using CloneZilla and admit that there are some teething pains... but usually nothing a few minutes on Google can't solve. IE - the 70-persistent-net.rules being wiped out as part of the clone restore. That caught me off guard at first; but now I'm aware of it and know to select -irhr from now on. The ability to create "custom" self-booting ISO recovery discs is fantastic. Everything is setup and ready to go; all the people in the field have to do is make sure the system boots from the DVD and then press "Y" twice.

    Posted 12/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It does exactly what it says on the box. Its an essential no messing around utility. If you screw it up it means you haven't read the instructions. It is really that easy.

    Posted 09/18/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alright... using CloneZilla was one of the biggest decisions of my life and yes, CloneZilla did convinced me to do that. I am from IT background, particularly software... but i do have a little bit of interest in hardware too. So, i have a laptop around 3 years old and wanted to replace my harddrive with a new one. The plan was to replace my existing working Toshiba 500GB harddrive with a new WD 500GB harddrive... CloneZilla did the Job Amazingly and i has almost no issues with anything at all. I love CloneZIlla and would recommend it to anyone who is trying to Clone either a Windows or Ubuntu(linux) hard drive as it works perfectly with them. Please note that it works with other system too... but i have only tested it on these two for now.

    Posted 09/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 09/01/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NIC card no longer works. Booting from image, all goes accordingly till system reboot and the legacy os loads (windows). Reinstalled NIC, troubleshooting event logs (shouldn't matter when OS powered down) but I recalled an operation during the cloning process telling me it's notifying/triggering an event within the powered down Windows OS, i figured something might have been corrupted in the registry. I was right but decided it's more work repairing the registry vs doing a fresh reformat of my OS. Thanks for wasting 2 hours of my LIFE!! If this is true, why in the world do you need to trigger ANY events to a user machine offline OS instance if the cloning operation occurs between two independent disk? I understand the latter if mounting the directory to an active volume/disk shared with Windows but in cases like mine (cloning external-to-external HDD), this should run independently. ie. build files/cache in ram disk, and do whatever it is you linux guys do to ensure ZERO impact to users data outside the scope of the source/destination disk. Either way, I just want to share this is a poorly written application from my perspective. You should be more forthcoming about any procedural ramifications to a users data before someone approves a batch process of linux commands to jack up their data and OS. Maybe i'm way off and missed something, but if im not, shame on you jerks.... Either way, your UI is not intuitive. I own Acronis and paid for it but was hoping this had more functionality. Well it does and them some... Including the above.. Thanks again

    Posted 08/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    work great here

    Posted 05/22/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks