CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
127
7
6
3
91
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • uli8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MUY BUENO... FUNCIONA EXELENTE EN MI WIN 7

    Posted 02/12/2016
  • wrhowerton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Addressing the spyware/malware. READ what the windows are saying after you download the file. Do not simply click through them all without paying attention. Clicking "Decline" for all offers will ensure you get no malware. That said, this review is for the program itself. My problem is with the choppyness of the videos. I'm trying to record some tutorial videos for downloading and installing some software and when I record, the cursor is very choppy and a large black window seems to flash in and out from behind the browser or program window. I tried maximizing the framerate to no avail.The audio was easy to configure and sounded great, but the video looked awful. For tutorial videos, users need to be able to follow my cursor easily so they don't get lost. For that reason, I will not use CamStudio and cannot recommend it.

    Posted 01/31/2016
  • nighttorch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installation is clean. However, it has a splash screen (with 'Special Offers' at the top...) that users can accept or decline. After 3 of those, it then goes on to the actual program. I assume those special offers is the malware everyone here is so upset over, but that's what you get when you blindly click accept to everything you see. So just hit DECLINE, and you're golden. It's simple really. How so many others can't do that is beyond me...

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • rollingoffset
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's really fucking simple. If you try downloading from the CanStudio site (camstudio.org/), you get a 979KB file containing MalSign.Generic.94C (avgthreatlabs.com/ww-en/virus-and-malware-information/info/trojan-horse-generic/?name=Trojan%20horse%20Generic.94C&utm_source=TDPU&utm_medium=RS&PRTYPE=AVF). If, on the other hand, you download from Sourceforge (sourceforge.net/projects/camstudio/) and use the 'Direct Download' link beneath the green 'Download' box, you get the full 11.171MB .exe which installs without problem or 'crapware'.

    Posted 11/23/2015
  • supermad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Your installation is full of crap. Even installs a software called malware??!!!. I will hunt you down POS, I will research who you are and I will look for you wherever you are and I will kick your azz. I will take your servers, your code and smash your freaking faces with them.

    Posted 11/21/2015
  • coolrat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full of malware. It seems the malware is included by SourceForge- quite a shameful tactic that is destroying their reputation. Do not download and encourage the open source projects to relocate.

    Posted 10/31/2015
  • lutteur22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING !!! THIS SOFTWARE IS FULL OF SPYWARE - Do not download it any more This comes even if you uncheck all boxes, and it is almost impossible to get rid of them afterwards. This one should be expelled from SourceForge now.

    Posted 10/26/2015
  • pupk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs unwanted software - Malware Prortection Live Trojan/Generic.ASMalwNS.9 PE:Malware.RDM.36!5.2A[F1] Adware.OutBrowseGen.Win32.1

    Posted 10/24/2015
  • joefg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My AVIRA-Scanner found the Virus "ADWARE/Spigot.Gen7" just after seconds when Installer was started. I think, it makes no sense to let this kind of software on this site.

    Posted 10/13/2015
  • clintonman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Changed the home page and search engine on all my browsers to Yahoo. A nuisance but who knows what other changes it made. Restored the computer to an earlier time to be on the safe side. I hope the developers can find a better way to generate revenue for this project in the future. I don't recommend installing it until they do.

    Posted 10/11/2015
  • seaforthcastle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wonder where everyone else is getting the malware reports from. I downloaded both the software exe file and the codec from sourceforge (please note) and scanned both with MalawareBytes current version. No malware of any kind was detected in the exe or codec surprisingly despite previous reports here, nor did it install any unwanted software/adware or re-direct my browser as a result of installation. I also ran AVG on the installtion files and my system, no malware or other threats are reported. I am running Vista 64 bit. I then installed the software and ran a basic test to see if I could record something and it did work as expected. I'll report more fully when I get a chance to really test the features of the software.

    Posted 10/11/2015
  • oggologgo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Please get this pile of malware off of this site. It's unacceptable.

    Posted 09/26/2015
  • hawkinh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Norton Endpoint Security detects Trojan.Gen.2 and quarantines immediately.

    Posted 09/04/2015
  • lowercasethis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVG deleted the installer the moment it finished saving.

    Posted 09/01/2015
  • v3c7r0n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wish I could talk about how the software worked... ESET reports multiple instances of Win32/Wrapper.E in installer. I'm sure this is because of the included adware others have mentioned, but I don't dare shut off ESET to install it. I'm disappointed in SourceForge for even hosting the installer for this given it's current state.

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • wildtiger_rj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know why people are flaming this project. Every "hidden adware" review here is false, just installed it and everything's ok.

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • einsundnull
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Avoid this like the plague. the (web) installer comes with several adware and even the download size of 11.4 MB for CamStudio_Setup_2-7_r316 is wrong. You get a 71 KB web installer instead.

    Posted 08/21/2015
  • tasin840840
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CamStudio Studio is very good software..It is using for record screen.. But Camtassia Studio 8 is one of the best software for screen recording, video editing , green screen Shoot & others... this software can use Dummies. It very easy to use. Click Here : www.freeprosoftwarepaidapps.com

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • ojutan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 2.7 is PUA/Installcore.gen / PUA/Winwrapper infected. Go away with da shit.

    Posted 08/11/2015
  • humansystems
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was going to download this but, based on the recent negatives regarding unwanted malware, I think I'll forgo. Thanks everyone for posting your experience!

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • petascale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    much to my regret, i have to say this used to be a good program, but now you better not installing it. it contains adware, and ad injectors. do not install it. or you can download the sources and compile it

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • donalejandro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT USE !!! FULL OF VIRUS / MALWARES / ADWARES !

    Posted 07/30/2015
  • slikk7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed CamStudio today from Camstudio.org, clueless of where this project has headed to. Before I knew it, my system was infected with adware and multiple trojans, endangering all my sensitive files. The installer didn't even prompt for permission. I already noticed something shady about the installer, it was very non-typical, clearly provided by another third-party. Unfortunately, I assumed to best and proceeded. Nick, whatever makes you do this, you are either very desperate, or very twisted. Stop playing the entrepreneur, because you suck at it. Also, don't assume that sourceforge is a safe haven for the integrity of your project (I see you removed 'official' references to camstudio.org), because your destructive actions will echo everywhere.

    Posted 07/09/2015
  • seamon53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried to install today, July 1, 2015. Comodo AV gave this message: CloudScanner.Trojan.Gen@1@1 File: C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\is-3MFIC.tmp\CamStudio_Setup_2-7_r316[1].tmp

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • dgeorge200
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Humans:) Please Chillax, *that's chill+relax :) The program installation has offers, which you can easily decline, the program itself is free of any Malware, so there you go. if you have malwarebytes the message says: ******* NON-malware detected, Malwarebytes has blocked a potentially unwanted program. Vendor: PUP.Optional.InstallCore.SID.C ******* Non-malware is NOT malware, I know I also go with the first two letters and last two letters:) some of the reviews say the program did not work, it needs the Visual C++ redistributed package, so if it did not work, try uninstalling and downloading a new copy, remember to read what the offers are, and if you are not interested click Decline, and the installation will continue. ********* Sourceforge is a great community and makes great programs available for free, Similar packages are available commercially for around 49.99 d, honest! If I may make a suggestion, Be Kind in your comments and I am guessing you can benefit also from taking time to be kind to yourself too Wish you all a great day ahead.

    Posted 06/25/2015
Show next 25 reviews