CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
121
7
7
4
103
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is NO malware (there was addware once but that had been taken out and honestly: READ before you click [OK]! Always! I have installed many good software and many did not make it easy to avoid the search or home screen to be set to something other than what you have. Even Adobe tries to install unwanted software whenever you update pdf or flash) I use the software since 10 years now and I am totally happy with it. I use screen capture rarely and am therefore no pro. The features I get are exactly the features I need. I am sure there are more powerful and sophisticated apps out, but I want to record my actions and not have to read through pages and pages of manuals before I can even start thinking of recording. This is why I don't use Photoshop if I want a quick graphic but GIMP or even MSSPaint. Concluding: I love it. It does what I want and I can start recording 5 minutes after the download started. Is there more powerful software out? Maybe, but this is free and the interface is manageable. I wished they were in CNet and the likes to be wider spread and then some of us may even donate. I donate 5$ each time I install it on a machine. The developers won't get more than a Cappucino out of it, but I try not to pay more than that. It's more an acknowlegement of their efforts than to attribute to their new Lear Jet. And I am sorry since I work in IT and know how much 'Blood, Sweat and Tears' go into software like that. (I did not need 'support' so cannot judge on it)

    Posted 07/15/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING - DO NOT DOWNLOAD - Camstudio is a mediocre program that the developers ruined by including unwanted software programs in the download process. It will automatically download a search engine, malware scanner, and about 2 other terrible, unwanted programs that took me 45 minutes to completely uninstall from my computer. On top of that, I had to run a system scan to make sure I didn't get hacked or catch a virus. Consider any of Camstudio's competitors/alternatives, all of which are much better and dont try to unethically trick you into downloading trash software programs. Again, DO NOT DOWNLOAD, it's a low grade, low class, waste of time program

    Posted 07/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    oh dear...the installer tries to install adware. If you don't read the text and simply click "Accept", you will install adware. Don't install this software. Also it doesn't work well anymore. It's extremely slow, the output is garbage and who needs *.swf anymore? This project should be deleted. Especially because it tries to trick you into installing adware onto your pc. The trust is broken. I will tell anyone not to use this software. @janhgm @nickthegeek Please fix this garbage. I will contact sourceforge.net otherwise.

    Posted 05/30/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This goddamn thing installed some random malware... next thing you know... I got this virus that was making my entire windows system flash neon lights. I ended up closing all my work that I was doing, and I uninstalled this piece of crap. However, the system still was flashing... I had to go to the task manager and end task in order to get rid of it.... whoever invented this... your moms a hoe

    Posted 05/11/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed this on my system and did not get any viruses or adware installed. I watched the tutorial video from 2013 on the author's website and in that video he not only informs users that they can choose to not install the adware but also asks users to inform him if they have trouble uninstalling the adware. He states that he considers that a breach. If you have been infected, then you should contact the author at camstudio dot org and inform him of the issues you have encountered. Take care.

    Posted 04/22/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Take down this project! CamStudio installed so much unremovable crapware on my computer I had to reinstall windows. You fn bastards! Sourceforge that this down as your reputation is at stake.

    Posted 02/23/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used to be good . Now it is like the cancer in human body . I completely formated the computer!!!!!!!!!! Antiviruses can't do nothing for this cancer . Excellent alternative is OBS STUDIO .

    Posted 02/10/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Useless program. Chock full of adware with a very confusing installation process that makes you think you are declining the adware but it installs it anyway. The program did not work. Would not let me change region size for capture so the only choices were tiny square, full window or full screen. After recording 15 minutes of screen interactions I clicked Stop, it asked me for the filename, I entered a name, and it saved a huge mp4 and then popped up a whole bunch of error windows. I had to kill the program using pskill. Sourceforge should not be allowing this garbage on their site.

    Posted 01/29/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hey SourceForge, How can you allow this garbage to remain on this site? VirusTotal shows 29 virus scanners are indicating malware, Trojans, Adware and more from reputable virus scanners like AVG, Viper, Kapersky, McAfee and Sophos. This needs to be removed from SourceForge. People DO NOT download this. You have been warned.

    Posted 06/26/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this for many years now. The latest version is downloading virus / malware / Adware. Thankfully the antivirus utility got hold of it. Never again.

    Posted 04/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    In the early days this was some great open source no nonsense software, It could of been annexed as a gift to mankind, but the project was taken over by a man filled with greed. He let anyone holding a wad of cash stuff adware, malware and viruses into the installer. Virus's so hard to remove they require the download of removal tools, yes other good people had to step in to make removal tools for us. Avoid downloading this, don't compromise your systems security by downloading after all it will be you paying with time / money to have it removed. Unless your an advanced computer user with at least a memory sandbox, I would avoid this at all costs and I did some tests, it still installs malware even if you decline the questions.

    Posted 04/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's a shame

    Posted 03/25/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This product is so chalk full of spyware that it gives problems installing. In order to install it, you need to disable your security, which normally sends up red flags by itself. Once it's installed, it loads three programs that the only way you can close them, is by UNINSTALLING them, which makes the program completely useless. I uninstalled this program and started a sweep of my system, but I recommend NO ONE INSTALL THIS SPYWARE PROGRAM!

    Posted 03/10/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Packed with adware and stuff like that. Useless and dangerous.

    Posted 02/18/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and fairly clean interface, but the recorded files (in .avi format) are humongous. I recorded less than 30 second of screen activity on slightly less than half of a 1920x1200 monitor and got a file that was a bit over 0,5 GB. I switched to TinyTake and it recorded a slightly shorter version of the same screen action in about 2,5 MB (200 times smaller). TinyTake had other drawbacks but nothing I couldn't live with :-). However, I don't seem to have gotten any additional, unwanted software installed with CamStudio from Sourcefourge, maybe they've cleaned up the installers after all the complaints they got?

    Posted 02/17/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used CamStudio in the past and found that it is good, reliable, and lets face it free, screen recording software. I have Adobe Premiere Pro, so don't need to do video editing in my screen capture software, I just want something that captures my screen, captures my voice and highlights the cursor. CamStudio also auto pans which is useful if you are not recording the whole screen, but occasionally need to move over and show something out of the current shot. One feature I wish CamStudio had is the ability to display keyboard presses as text on the screen in a customizable location. I find when watching demonstrations of software that use a lot of keyboard shortcuts such as Photoshop or Premiere Pro etc, that they can be difficult to follow since the person generally forgets to mention what they are pressing and when. But sadly CamStudio doesn't seem to do this. The workaround of course is that when making demonstration videos just don't forget to say what keyboard shortcuts you are pressing when you use them, so the viewers can follow along. Anyway I up graded my computers after many years and so needed to download the latest version of CamStudio. I read all these complaints about people getting Malware and trojans and things when installing CamStudio even here on sourceforge. Anyway as of 16th of Feb 2016 I can report that the file available here from the link in the "Stable" folder on files tab of the CamStudio pages had no malware of any kind. Various commentors for this software noted that you just have to click decline and the Malware is not installed, but for me there was no attempt to install any. One commentor noted that there was advertising in the CamStudio software when it came up, but there is none on the version that I downloaded "CamStudio_Setup_2-7_r316.exe (11.4 MB)". Sadly you can't post URLs in these comments otherwise I could show you examples of videos I made with the software to address the issues of the quality of the recordings.

    Posted 02/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MUY BUENO... FUNCIONA EXELENTE EN MI WIN 7

    Posted 02/12/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Addressing the spyware/malware. READ what the windows are saying after you download the file. Do not simply click through them all without paying attention. Clicking "Decline" for all offers will ensure you get no malware. That said, this review is for the program itself. My problem is with the choppyness of the videos. I'm trying to record some tutorial videos for downloading and installing some software and when I record, the cursor is very choppy and a large black window seems to flash in and out from behind the browser or program window. I tried maximizing the framerate to no avail.The audio was easy to configure and sounded great, but the video looked awful. For tutorial videos, users need to be able to follow my cursor easily so they don't get lost. For that reason, I will not use CamStudio and cannot recommend it.

    Posted 01/31/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installation is clean. However, it has a splash screen (with 'Special Offers' at the top...) that users can accept or decline. After 3 of those, it then goes on to the actual program. I assume those special offers is the malware everyone here is so upset over, but that's what you get when you blindly click accept to everything you see. So just hit DECLINE, and you're golden. It's simple really. How so many others can't do that is beyond me...

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's really fucking simple. If you try downloading from the CanStudio site (camstudio.org/), you get a 979KB file containing MalSign.Generic.94C (avgthreatlabs.com/ww-en/virus-and-malware-information/info/trojan-horse-generic/?name=Trojan%20horse%20Generic.94C&utm_source=TDPU&utm_medium=RS&PRTYPE=AVF). If, on the other hand, you download from Sourceforge (sourceforge.net/projects/camstudio/) and use the 'Direct Download' link beneath the green 'Download' box, you get the full 11.171MB .exe which installs without problem or 'crapware'.

    Posted 11/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Your installation is full of crap. Even installs a software called malware??!!!. I will hunt you down POS, I will research who you are and I will look for you wherever you are and I will kick your azz. I will take your servers, your code and smash your freaking faces with them.

    Posted 11/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full of malware. It seems the malware is included by SourceForge- quite a shameful tactic that is destroying their reputation. Do not download and encourage the open source projects to relocate.

    Posted 10/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING !!! THIS SOFTWARE IS FULL OF SPYWARE - Do not download it any more This comes even if you uncheck all boxes, and it is almost impossible to get rid of them afterwards. This one should be expelled from SourceForge now.

    Posted 10/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs unwanted software - Malware Prortection Live Trojan/Generic.ASMalwNS.9 PE:Malware.RDM.36!5.2A[F1] Adware.OutBrowseGen.Win32.1

    Posted 10/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My AVIRA-Scanner found the Virus "ADWARE/Spigot.Gen7" just after seconds when Installer was started. I think, it makes no sense to let this kind of software on this site.

    Posted 10/13/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, thanks