boot-repair Icon

A simple tool to repair frequent boot issues

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
33
2
2
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unbelievable. This software has saved me multiple times. I really thought I had erased my entire hard drive, yet this fixed it super-quick, amazing. Thank you for making this.

    Posted 12/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    HELP! I have a Win 7 laptop and a separate Win 7 hard drive that I thought needed MBR repair. i was under a lot of major stress for other reasons so when I came across this tool. I didn't read the bold print let alone the fine print. I attached the separate Win 7 drive as an external drive to my Win 7 laptop. I then ran the tool and to my horror it had killed my Win 7 OS. I couldn't see anything in the program to "Undo" what I had done. And I don't know anything about Ubuntu to know what happened much less know if there's a way to fix this. I'm running the EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard on it but it's almost 50% completed and it's not finding anything on what was an almost full drive. Oh and did I say it was a McAfee encrypted drive? The McAfee tool would allow me to access the files if I PXE boot the laptop with the drive in it using a decrypting file the tool provides. But it's not even recognizing the drive with the Ubuntu changes. Any ideas on how to back this out?

    Posted 09/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After reinstallation of Ubuntu alongside win7 was not able to boot, boot-repair fixed the issue. Thank you!

    Posted 08/23/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice

    Posted 07/28/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WOW...!! I would Never have thought that Parallel install Of Linux on a Windows Disk that screwd up the ntfs Boot Sectors so Bad the PC would only Boot to POST then Die..! Installed Slacko on USB.. Worked the Grub dual Booter until I got to a Recovery Screen.. Once into windows.. Installed Boot-Repair onto it.. Booted from in and ran it... With Fingers & Toes Crossed !! Now,.. Boots fine..! Lost Not ONE File. ! All my Family Photos of my kids are on that HD.. You are a Life Saver. !!! I am Recommending this Sweeeeet ISO to EVERYONE ..!! Thank-you again ! Keep these Awesome Programs Coming..!! ...

    Posted 01/29/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it breaks things

    Posted 10/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I couldn't find the download button anywhere but found the file, eventually sourceforge.net/projects/boot-repair-cd/files/

    Posted 08/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So incredible that we have to fight to find a DOWNLOAD button ?

    Posted 08/08/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good! Saved my day after lots of other tries. Thank you so much!

    Posted 07/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Click the "Home" button above in order to get presentation of the tool.

    Posted 05/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    where can i find the link to download???????????

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you yannabuntu! I upgraded the linux side of a windows7/fedora laptop and mangled the boot loader, I guess. Your disk repaired it! I really appreciated the paste.ubuntu.com page with the summary of boot-repairs findings. Excellent job.

    Posted 01/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You are a godsend! If you had a way to donate I would! Fixed my faulty Master Boot Record

    Posted 12/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Utterly useless. I installed ubuntu next to Win 8.1, then installed boot-repair, and ran it. After more than an hour of "Scanning systems (os-prober). ... " I gave up.

    Posted 11/22/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had to use Boot-Repair on my Dell Latitude D610 installation of Linux Mint 13. The way it worked for me was to insert the Boot-Repair disc, reboot my laptop, allowed the program to run, a pop-up screen asked for my language which was defaulted at "English" and without pressing anything I allowed the timer to count down and a few moments later the Boot-Repair program loaded and from there I chose the "Recommended" option and next it asked for my WiFi password, finished repairing, so I ejected the disk and rebooted, chose my Linux Mint install and was at the Welcome screen shortly after that! Thanks Sourceforge!

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This saved me again. Many thanks.

    Posted 08/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried the software but I can just create the boot info report, it doesn't show the repair button or the advanced options, so I really can't repair my MBR. Why is that? BTW I also tried the Boot Repair Disk, with the same result: no repair button or advanced options.

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I screwed up my grub while attempting to install Debian and this tool saved me the trouble of reinstalling everything. Thanks! :D

    Posted 07/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My boot CD report "Type Machine error" and reboot...

    Posted 05/04/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great tool. I am a total Linux noob, decided to start using Ubuntu now that a couple of my old laptops and a desktop PC no longer get support for their Windows XP. When I installed Lubuntu on the first laptop with dual boot, I could not get GRUB to run, and the machine kept booting to XP only. After much trial and searching for answers on forums, I chanced upon Boot Repair, downloaded it, and tried it out. Bingo, on the very first run, Boot Repair figured out what was wrong and fixed it for me. Two clicks on my part was all it took. Now my laptop shows me both OSs, and allows me to pick which to boot into. Thank you very very much, gentlemen, again, this is an exceptional tool for all of us out here. :-)

    Posted 05/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much!! I had been trying to fix boot problems for days before finding boot-repair on pendrivelinux.com. It worked beautifully the first time, fixed my dual boot issue. You guys- the developers, Source Forge, the open source community- are amazing. This is why I'm leaving Windows for Linux. The open source community gives so much. Thank you again, you're lifesavers.

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this, this saved me many times.

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow! This got me out of the mess, after trying lots of other things. Very easy to use. And most important: it made my Linux machine booting again.

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I cannot write too highly in praise of this application: It restored boot functionality to one pc in just a couple of clicks, quickly identifying all bootable media. The other instance was even more miraculous: I was unable to get an old laptop to boot from usb drive....after installing and deploying Boot Repair the option magically appeared on my boot options!! This is a five-star app if I've ever seen one! Thanks SourceForge!

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With this tool I deleted my Linux partition (dualboot with Windows 7) from disk without problem! :) p.s. Don't worry, I'm not Windows user, I just want install another distro ;)

    Posted 03/01/2014
Show next 18 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

No, Thank you