boot-repair-disk Icon

A rescue disk that includes the Boot Repair tool

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
74
2
3
1
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bless You! I wish I had known about this software years ago. What a lifesaver!

    Posted 07/13/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    always save me from complete reinstallation ! Magical software. thank you

    Posted 06/24/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Boot Repair Disk was a great tool that was able to repair just about any system that did not want to boot anymore, be it UEFI or BIOS. That was around 2014. Since then, no further development of the project seems to have happened. However, the world has moved on. In 2017, I see a few issues with the tool: 1.) Will not work with nvme SSDs 2.) Needs to be run from an optical media, while fewer and fewer computers have optical drives. When running boot repair from an USB stick, it tends to overwrite the boot information on the stick - so you have to reprogram the stick before every use.

    Posted 04/28/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i couldn't boot to windows after i installed this program on a usb and booted to it it fixed all problems :D thank you

    Posted 03/03/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome software. Thank you.

    Posted 12/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Solved my issue in minutes - Highly recommended. I needed to fix Ubuntu 14.04 with various disks installed.

    Posted 11/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have a dual boot Mint 17.3 with Win10. Used Windows to shrink one of the partitions and create a new one. Big mistake to use Windows to create a partition. "No such partition Grub recover>" on boot. For some reason I could not create a bootable cd or usb flash from this boot repair iso. I've created a bootable Repair disk before, so I do not know what the problem was this time. So I mounted a live Ubuntu cd and installed boot repair with three commands found in askubuntu forums. Very easy. Once Boot Repair was running I knew all would be well. I have used this product many times and it has always worked for me. It is very handy when moving to new drives and Windows is involved.

    Posted 07/19/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had dual-booted Lubuntu and Windows XP on a Dell Latitude 131L just for fun, and had deleted Lubuntu. This damaged my MBR, but did not have my XP install disks. So, I installed the bootable version of this using UNetBootIn (from a Mac, no less), ran it, and fixed the problem. Worked great.

    Posted 05/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome. Thanks

    Posted 04/06/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software really got me out of a pinch. Thank you to all members of this project. -MA

    Posted 03/05/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very usefull

    Posted 01/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wer mehrere BS auf der Festplatte installiert hat, ein klares muss. Hat mir schon öfter bei Bootsektor Fehler zufriedenstellend geholfen. Klare Empfehlung.

    Posted 01/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    boot-repair-disk saved my life (or at least one of my PCs) twice.

    Posted 01/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If English is your native language, please forgive me for my poor English! ;-) Excellent! Some time ago I lost my Linux partition on my dual boot Win/Mint and only Windows could boot: no grub, no way to boot Linux. BRD did the job! I restarted and I found my grub again! I hope developers keep on working at this project. About Non-PAE issue with the 32bit version I don't know anything. Just one question: is it useful only with dual boot? Can I use it on "Windows only" PC? I have several tools and command line solutions to restore MBR both on traditional and UEFI machines, but I'm wondering if I can use BRD on Windows, without having a dual boot. Thanks in advance!

    Posted 01/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has worked every single one of the 5 times I've messed my pc up so badly that I wont boot whatsoever, I want to thank the creator of the boot repair tool for such a great job, this disk is a must have for any Linux user..

    Posted 12/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great

    Posted 12/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    there's no "recomended repair" in mine... why? and how to resolve it?

    Posted 12/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very quick and easy to use, thank you so much!

    Posted 12/02/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My laptop is now healed! Thank you. (Problems with dual boot after win 7 to win 10 update)

    Posted 11/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent tool !!! Save my life :-) , manage to repair even windows 7 boot partition Thanks.

    Posted 09/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program he helped me several times ...

    Posted 09/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My windows 7 boot partition was damaged by a screwed up grub installation. I tried the regular windows 7 repair process from my install cd but it was no good. I tried several other processes listed in various articles, but these also failed. Boot-repair-disk had me up and running in less than 5 minutes. I would give it 10 stars if I could.

    Posted 08/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved my laptop after an abortive installation of Ubuntu. It's a great tool.

    Posted 08/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done. It automated removing or repairing GRUB and building a fully functional MBR for Windows.

    Posted 07/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will give this project a high rating, because it always was (and is) a great project. BUT, could you please make the previous version of Boot-Repair-Disk available? I use it for a very specific reason and this does not work with the current version (probably has to do with Legacy, as strelok29 mentioned before me).

    Posted 06/29/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks