fre:ac - free audio converter Icon

Audio converter and CD ripper for various formats

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
61
5
1
4
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very fast, thought my cd might shatter. i dont think its as good as CDex (which i am still looking for thru all of my old downloads) but its close.

    Posted 05/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use fre:ac on an almost daily basis, its my goto tool for audio ripping and conversion

    Posted 04/02/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great conversion utility, clean UI, easy to use, functional and fast. Rating it 1 star because your CPU temp gets high!, come on!, upgrade your CPU/FAN first, no problems running it on my Athlon II X2 2.80 GHz, dual-core desktop. Reviews like this ruin the whole concept of user rating.

    Posted 01/21/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Insanely fast conversion!

    Posted 01/13/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    High quality free software, fast and reliable. Download the x64 builds for even faster conversion.

    Posted 12/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good application to retrieve music in CD format to other formats like mp3.

    Posted 11/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used this excellent program to convert all of my ALAC ripped CD's to MP3 and found very easy to use. There were a few minor issues which the author is working on (like not been able to select multiple folders in one go) but in general it worked and did exactly what you ask it to do. It has a whole host of different encoders to suit most music player requirements and with the new multi encoder it'll convert them all faster (if you have multiple processors)!

    Posted 11/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My new audio converter

    Posted 10/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic application. It is everything I needed. 10 thumbs up!

    Posted 09/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project really deserve all credits it can get. So do consider a donation, as the man behind the code really deserves it. B.T.W. with my best 2 the coder

    Posted 08/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app so far (trying out today!) Had to move to a new audio converter due to Win10 breaking with the old XP Digital Plus Pack Audio Converter (remember that?!). This program handled a large batch of an Amazon Classical album of 170 songs with 255 char length titles/filenames without croaking. I used it to go from MP3 to VBR WMA and it went through just fine. Found my new audio converter. Author was very responsive to questions in the forum, very refreshing; fre:ac will join my other favorites mp3tag and album art downloader.

    Posted 08/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloaded, virus scanned, converted my first file within 60 seconds. Great!

    Posted 08/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app for changing the format to your music

    Posted 07/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good soft. I used this for .flv video to extract sound and convert to .wav : good quality. Thanks !

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Work well and fast. Have detailed options to convert audio. Many times don't erase audio atributes like information libraries.

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing software! Strongly recommend it. :)

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works nicely on Windows 8.1. Certain features really exceeded my expectations - such as convert to source directory and ability to drag files into files directly into the list (the devil (that makes SW usable) is hidden in a detail). I would welcome if the list of files would change depending on output file name pattern.

    Posted 08/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best multi format encoding / cross-coding tool there is.

    Posted 07/20/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Magnifico

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really really great. Easy to use, useful, simple. All that you need to convert any any commercial format.

    Posted 01/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic project, really useful application. Thank you very much.

    Posted 11/02/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good project, thanks! Simple use. Good site!!!

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/01/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks