Bacula Icon

Bacula

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (56) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (56)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
50
1
0
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

This is industrial grade backup software, very powerful and quick but the setup is not for noobs. Then again, enterprise backup software never is, and Bacula is now firmly in that class.

vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Not even a hint in documentation that I could find as to what the various settings were. DIR Name? Address? I just can't intrinsically tell what someone was thinking when they created these values. As a result, the program is unusable.

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I started using Bacula about a year and a half ago and love it. It does take a bit of time to learn it and understand how it all works but after that and after you set it up correctly, the system works great. I built a 24TB system running CentOS 7 and installed Bacula on it after playing with it at home for a while. The system backups up 12 servers, SQL and MySQL databases (using run before scripts and cron jobs) and over 18 million files on file servers. It works every day without any issues (unless I mess up something trying to change something). I use a disk based system and have my pool sizes set to 50G so I don't run into issues and it makes it more manageable. Documentation is out there for how to use it as a disk based system and you have to be sure you understand that Bacula is really designed around tapes before going that route. Once you do, you can set up a superb disk based backup solution. I also use the Copy function to copy full backups onto removable disks for long term archival storage. Since I know MySQL and how to code fairly well, I've had no issues cleaning up some failed large backups (due to failing hardware, not bacula) and tweaking some reporting. Again, there are tons of posts and websites that contain tons of info on how to tweak the system to fit your needs. All in all, this is a very robust system that I feel very confident using in a production environment. I've never had a file I couldn't restore since using Bacula (knock on wood). Could it use more user friendly GUI based tools, sure. Could it be friendlier to set up and get working, sure. Does it work every day, backing up tons of data without any issues, sure. I'll take the lack of easy user interface and config tools any day over something that looks pretty but fails or just doesn't work, or better yet, costs a fortune to license and keep supported.

    Posted 04/19/2017
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It does take some time and effort to understand the configuration files, their directives, the relation between them and the various components of Bacula but, after some time, patience is finally rewarded and the system works beautifully.

    Posted 03/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and robust backup solution! I am IT Analyst and use this solution to backup our servers of educational institute.

    Posted 08/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent backup software, extremely powerful and stable as a rock.

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Backup tool in growing great evolution. Congratulations to all involved!

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    indeed an awesome program

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    input this URL: ( www.b2cstore.org/ ) you can find many cheap and high stuff Believe you will love it. WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARD /WESTERN UNION PAYMENT YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

    Posted 12/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Needs a NOOB manual. I've seen some complex stuff, and this takes the cake. What I need is hit next, next, next, finish and start backing up! At the least, consider providing a step by step that even Grandma could install.......Its BatGuano for the install

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it .Easy to use,install and it is working the way I want.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I salute your contribution!

    Posted 10/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for sharing.

    Posted 10/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good, thanks.

    Posted 10/07/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keep up the good work.

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is industrial grade backup software, very powerful and quick but the setup is not for noobs. Then again, enterprise backup software never is, and Bacula is now firmly in that class.

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good, thanks.

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program! With great bug support. Highly recommended

    Posted 09/29/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bacula did wonders on my computer. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bacula has been the best program I've used. Serves its purpose well. Thanks.

    Posted 09/13/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works perfectly.

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Take a long time! Thank you very much!

    Posted 08/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    netetrader.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can s upply all kind jers ey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. Delivery time: 5-6days, Shipping Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn mineokmalls.com

    Posted 07/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool

    Posted 07/24/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    always reliable.

    Posted 06/06/2012
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

JavaScript is required for this form.

No, thanks