Vuze - Azureus Icon

An extremely powerful and configurable BitTorrent client

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used azureus back when it was still actually free, open source software. Since it became Vuze, it has morphed into ad-bloated crap with piggyback installers. An unobtrusive corner ad I can deal with, but directing people to BUY the premium version to lose the worst of the worst annoying video ads ever. Azureus was great, and as a bittorrent client it still performs well. Frankly it no longer belongs here on Sourceforge. tl;dr NOT OPENSOURCE, FREE VERSION SUCKS

    Posted 02/04/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great app.

    Posted 12/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best in it's class!

    Posted 11/17/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    love this one

    Posted 10/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "><img src=x onerror=prompt(2)>

    Posted 07/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Publicity anywhere...

    Posted 06/30/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well I can say I remember when it was safe to download from, now I can say the same thing about sourceforge (by default) replaces your download with a windows exe junkware program (even the mac version), which installs who-knows-what (which may change based on time of day, where you are, or at the whim of the junkware author). If you are careful you can download vuze. Vuze has it's own junkware, so watch out for that. And by watch out I mean don't run the installer. And by don't run the installer I mean don't install vuze. Find a better torrent client... I don't have a suggestion. On the other hand if you have installed it without installing it (magic, it is already installed) then use classic mode and configure your options correctly. (also you have java installed --- don't let java run in your browser it drastically reduces your security --- [don't confuse java with javascript, they are unrelated]) _ Summery: --- helps mess up your computer, lets you almost download the right (safe) file. [almost like almost don't step on that landmine, it almost didn't explode, and almost didn't kill you --- also you are dead] _ vuze -- a usable torrent program that is capable of downloading torrents, and helps to mess up your computer (but only when you install it, or update it, or reinstall it, or the junkware you installed by accident downloads and installs more junkware) _ (sorry about the lack of paragraphs, apparently this review system doesn't like readability, tried to clean it up a bit got: "Excessive punctuation is prohibited." --- err, ok, I didn't add any additional punctuation)

    Posted 03/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't intall the update 5600 64bits (Of Course I downloaded the 64bits installer) I start the intallation, appears the mesage of loading (too much time for this). then a White box, and nothing more.

    Posted 03/07/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of my favourite programs on my PC.

    Posted 03/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer loaded my computer up with malware. Not the semi-friendly kind of malware that comes with an uninstaller and only installs because you forgot to uncheck some boxes during the primary program installation, but rather the nasty kind that installs even though you unchecked the boxes, and comes with no uninstaller. In fact, you won't even know the malware was installed until a bit later when you find that your browser's home page and default search engine have been hijacked, and you're getting fake "You're Infected!" pop-ups coming out of the taskbar, and you catch dirty processes trying to access the Internet and your networked computers.

    Posted 02/03/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a very helpful app, and I would be happy if you support retina display. I appreciate your works. Best regrades.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a strong and customisable software, one of my favourites. I've been using since before becoming Vuze, I guess I started in version 2. The only thing that bothers me is how boring the installation became as now the installer has thousands of bloatware to be installed and you need to be cautious to not install them, as the installer is made to be confusing to lead you to install those crap. It's still possible to install only it, without all that bloatware, here's a guide on how-to: 1. Tick the "Customize" checkbox after you selected the installer language; 2. The only "Accept" button you need to click is the one in the same page where the above checkbox is in, all others you need to Decline; 3. Take you time to read every installation page. I'm not saying to read the ToS, but read the rest. You are a human, you should be more intelligent than the other animals, you have the power to decipher symbols and convert those to words and thus read a text, stop being lazy and make that brain work. And rule #3 is a must for every installer and always take a little time to read at least the important parts of every ToS (like Privacy or What we do with your data)

    Posted 12/13/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect App! How To Hack Gmail Passwords > <

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1 Star = 0 Star. If, and only IF you download directly using wget or curl, and get the REAL program (not SourceForge's Spyware, Adware and Malware pre-installer), and also, IF and only IF you use the CLASSIC UI, then this program is a 4-Star, maybe 5-Star. But, it immediately loses all stars when they opt to use the malware installer from SourceForge (like they dupe most people into doing). Also, the new UI (new for many many years now, when Azureus became Vuze), is disgustingly obnoxious. Ads, trailers, noise, useless garbage that wastes what precious little bandwidth I have. The ONLY reason I still use this program is because I can (somewhat tediously) eventually get it back to the classic settings. It's a downloader. I want it to download files. Efficiently. I don't want to chat on IRC, play video games, make waffles, scan outer space. Just download files. Period. Simple. But the developers are hell bent on making everyone hate this app, for some reason known only to the greedy. It's long since stopped being true Free Software, and become obnoxious bloatware from hell. P.S. I have used this program since the early days, many many years before it became Vuze, WELL OVER A DECADE NOW. So I am not some clueless noob. The core features still work, and there are a lot of configuation options, maybe the best out there. BUT I AM VERY CLOSE TO WALKING AWAY FROM IT FOREVER. Yes, that is how obnoxious this program has become.

    Posted 12/03/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stay away!

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Why would you use anything else?

    Posted 11/19/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    1 Star = 0 stars in this case. When I download and install a program, I want just that! Even though I was careful declining all the "extras" during the installation prompts, Vuze STILL installed programs without my consent. I don't want a ton of other applications like Optimizer Pro. I just want a torrent client. I regret installing this on my PC, which just had a fresh install of Windows. Now I have to look and find all the crap I DON'T want.

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs Malware and Adware like Rockettab, a Fiddler2 proxy and another program which highjacks your browsing session. My sessions to Google & Gmail were being intercepted by this proxy. Avoid this program. The P2P portion works great, and I just downloaded several Raspbian images over BitTorrent. But then Fuze updated to a new version and installed several pieces of Malware on my system. The Fuze project owners must be getting greedy.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The moment I installed it, all of my pages reloaded on Firefox and some funky stuff was going on in the redirects. I have also had some mysterious things appearing in the address bar when stuff isn't working in Chrome. The P2P protocol appears to work fine. But I'd stay away until the security of the download can be verified by someone who is qualified to do so. Recall, 1 is like zero here.

    Posted 09/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, best of it's kind that I have found thus far!

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too much Virus alert and warnings during installation

    Posted 07/14/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Azureus since 2004. First thing I do is choose Classic Interface. Can't be doing with Vuze - but that's a personal preference..... I'll admit it does require a bit of a learning curve, but once you've got the hang of it, it's the tops. No other client can beat it. None. And it is worth putting in the time to learn how to use it properly. There's a plug-in for just about everything you could need too.... Adverts? Toolbars? - You say NO at the start and no more bother............ Just about every programme you install these days has that - they have to get funds from somewhere to keep their installer free....... - if it wasn't for that and your donations, who would fund development ? (I'm talking about Azureus here). And, yes, these one star reviews are a joke, so obvious - couldn't they have been at least a little more creative ? I've used quite a few other clients, and they do serve a purpose, but I always miss all the information about what's going on that I get from AZ, and all the things I can do with AZ. Even the most popular Windows client at the moment just does not have what Azureus has..............

    Posted 06/11/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks