Audacity Icon

A free multi-track audio editor and recorder

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
248
6
2
1
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gregzaid0706
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software and very easy to use, i recomend it

    Posted 02/12/2016
  • arturomo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This was so easy to use. The software is very complete and intuitive. The instructions are clear and well-designed. The quality of my recording was excellent. Converting to MP3 was easy, once I followed the instructions and installed the .dll file for encoding MP3s. Five Stars!!

    Posted 01/21/2016
  • alekthander
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good many featured player. Exactly what I need.

    Posted 01/09/2016
  • foo123bar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do NOT, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES download audacity from sourceforge!!! They attach all sorts of malware to the download. YOU WILL INFECT YOUR COMPUTER!!!! Instead, go to the REAL audacity site: www.audacityteam.org

    Posted 12/25/2015
  • nik63
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличная программа!!!

    Posted 12/12/2015
  • code-promo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great audio editor Simply the BEST Very good ! ;)

    Posted 11/07/2015
  • dapa1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    best audio editor

    Posted 10/25/2015
  • atomas59
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply the BEST. I've downloaded Audacity on December 2013. User friendly, and with all the tutoriels available on youtube, Audacity is simply a joy to work with. Six months ago, I aquired Cubase Pro 8. But for nothing I would part with Audacity. I still use it often, even for my recording. If you want a reliable audio editing Platform, the Audacity is a MUST.

    Posted 10/23/2015
  • kidderdent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great audio editor and make shift DAW ( digital audio workstation ). i have used Audacity to edit podcasts and make simple demo recordings of myself playing guitar with ease. This is a great solution for aspiring musicians, youtube & anyone who doesn't want to invest to much to edit their podcasts. The really special part of Audacity in my opinion is the ability to import an image file and use the different settings to achieve texture and strange effects in your photos or illustrations. I import large TIFF images and uncompressed audio into Audacity a few times a week and it doesn't crash or hiccup when I manipulate large files.

    Posted 10/17/2015
  • danjgf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great OS audio editor, thank you!

    Posted 10/16/2015
  • egdv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    glencg - I'm uncertain what version of Audacity you're using that does not allow you save as an MP3 ? I must admit, I did struggle in the beginning, but I discovered if you "export" (under the "File" tag), a window opens with many options. Click on MP3 and WHAMO !

    Posted 10/06/2015
  • tas1624
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The download comes with two plug-ins that seem suspect. One appears to be related to pay after one use issue previously mention. Both were unnecessary to edit a wav file at least.

    Posted 10/06/2015
  • glencg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program for EVPs. However, after one use, you can't save to an MP3 format until you pay for service. NOT FREE! Be warned.You can't advertise or Google search something that is supposedly free if it truly isn't. Shady!

    Posted 10/05/2015
  • techpad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware this is not an official Audacity site... Official download is at web.audacityteam.org / download and the repo is hosted on GitHub not Sourceforge.

    Posted 08/23/2015
  • chessdave
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Stuff! Never a glitch!

    Posted 08/10/2015
  • baruch60610
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, nearly everything I could ask for. Features that go far beyond my present knowledge of audio - it will keep me busy for a long time. On problem, though: In my Ubuntu distro, there were no help files at all. I don't know where this problem arose - whether the audacity folks omitted it, or maybe Canonical did, but it really shouldn't happen.

    Posted 08/01/2015
  • niharm33
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, Tahoma font is outdated though. A Windows XP font. Upgrade to Segoe please.

    Posted 07/31/2015
  • stane-npp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a warning note: This project has been hijacked by one of the SourceForce team members (see above the user "sf-editor1"). There has been reports that SF take over projects to make more money by distributing their own malware. Don't trust SF, instead download from the authors website directly.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • freundt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fake site!

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • martynshaw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is not the 'real' Audacity download page, see audacityteam.org for their real page.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • kapodamy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice app

    Posted 05/26/2015
  • dennistodd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is fantastic! Thanks very much for this app..and making it available to everyone.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • bbrobison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is great! I use it at Church to clip, modify volume levels, and filter out noise for sermons and music. I also used it to shorten the duration of a song by 8 seconds without changing the pitch to match the duration of a video of another version of the song. I have Roxio Creator NXT 2. The Roxio Sound Editor and Audacity programs are essentially equivalent in functionality and ease of use. Both programs accept VST plugins. However, Audacity also supports LADSPA and Nyquist plugins. Nyquist is special in that the user can write their own plugins using only a text editor. The plugin is only a simple text file. Re-compiling Audacity or understanding Audacity source code is not needed.

    Posted 05/18/2015
  • stevedaulton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, great project, and great to see that it is still evolving after all these years.

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • pifthemighty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensable.

    Posted 04/29/2015
Show next 25 reviews