Audacity Icon

A free multi-track audio editor and recorder

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
254
7
4
2
16
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The review below is worth repeating: "Do NOT, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES download audacity from Sourceforge!!! They attach all sorts of malware to the download. YOU WILL INFECT YOUR COMPUTER!!!! Instead, go to the REAL audacity site: www.audacityteam.org " I spent half the night removing the large suite of nasty (and some very nasty) malware that embedded themselves deep within Windows and hijacked all browsers to the point of crippling them (with those false pop-up warnings that would not go away simply by clicking an 'x' - and I'm an electronics tech with a former computer tech cert - if you are not, then your computer is screwed. If you do not know how to quickly remove malware (including the nastiest), then don't download from this site - use the original site. Just a note - after I removed all the malware, I took a chance and manually installed the 'free' Audacity (worst case - all the malware would reinstall) - it installed OK - without the malware. I haven't tried Audacity yet - so I'm not sure if it will meet my needs, not knowing what functions and features it has - so my one-star review is a warning about this site...

    Posted 05/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beyond useless. My primary reason for using this program was to make ringtones and samples. However, after it resetting my time selections randomly over a dozen times in one day, I'm done. This program is no longer usable. I'll just pirate goldwave instead, hopefully by the next time I check in this will be fixed, finally.

    Posted 05/16/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do NOT, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES download audacity from sourceforge!!! They attach all sorts of malware to the download. YOU WILL INFECT YOUR COMPUTER!!!! Instead, go to the REAL audacity site: www.audacityteam.org

    Posted 12/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware this is not an official Audacity site... Official download is at web.audacityteam.org / download and the repo is hosted on GitHub not Sourceforge.

    Posted 08/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a warning note: This project has been hijacked by one of the SourceForce team members (see above the user "sf-editor1"). There has been reports that SF take over projects to make more money by distributing their own malware. Don't trust SF, instead download from the authors website directly.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fake site!

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is not the 'real' Audacity download page, see audacityteam.org for their real page.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After testing it briefly a handful of times it left 19GB of temp files on my hard drive!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good sound editor with great features

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    one of the best audio editors I using in my life, strongly recommend!

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried - liked this

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really good software

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    bad interface, small possibilities, are absent filters

    Posted 11/28/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i tried to use this piece of shit but havent gotten any where with it!

    Posted 04/20/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    horrible interface for new plugins. Had to switch to waveasaur to use gsnap and other vst's

    Posted 12/16/2009
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've heard many recommendations of this software but for me it simply crashes. Looks like an unstable alpha version.

    Posted 08/12/2009

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks