Audacity Icon

A free multi-track audio editor and recorder

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
255
8
4
2
18
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great OS audio editor, thank you!

    Posted 10/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    glencg - I'm uncertain what version of Audacity you're using that does not allow you save as an MP3 ? I must admit, I did struggle in the beginning, but I discovered if you "export" (under the "File" tag), a window opens with many options. Click on MP3 and WHAMO !

    Posted 10/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The download comes with two plug-ins that seem suspect. One appears to be related to pay after one use issue previously mention. Both were unnecessary to edit a wav file at least.

    Posted 10/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program for EVPs. However, after one use, you can't save to an MP3 format until you pay for service. NOT FREE! Be warned.You can't advertise or Google search something that is supposedly free if it truly isn't. Shady!

    Posted 10/05/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware this is not an official Audacity site... Official download is at web.audacityteam.org / download and the repo is hosted on GitHub not Sourceforge.

    Posted 08/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good Stuff! Never a glitch!

    Posted 08/10/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, nearly everything I could ask for. Features that go far beyond my present knowledge of audio - it will keep me busy for a long time. On problem, though: In my Ubuntu distro, there were no help files at all. I don't know where this problem arose - whether the audacity folks omitted it, or maybe Canonical did, but it really shouldn't happen.

    Posted 08/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, Tahoma font is outdated though. A Windows XP font. Upgrade to Segoe please.

    Posted 07/31/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a warning note: This project has been hijacked by one of the SourceForce team members (see above the user "sf-editor1"). There has been reports that SF take over projects to make more money by distributing their own malware. Don't trust SF, instead download from the authors website directly.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fake site!

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is not the 'real' Audacity download page, see audacityteam.org for their real page.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice app

    Posted 05/26/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is fantastic! Thanks very much for this app..and making it available to everyone.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is great! I use it at Church to clip, modify volume levels, and filter out noise for sermons and music. I also used it to shorten the duration of a song by 8 seconds without changing the pitch to match the duration of a video of another version of the song. I have Roxio Creator NXT 2. The Roxio Sound Editor and Audacity programs are essentially equivalent in functionality and ease of use. Both programs accept VST plugins. However, Audacity also supports LADSPA and Nyquist plugins. Nyquist is special in that the user can write their own plugins using only a text editor. The plugin is only a simple text file. Re-compiling Audacity or understanding Audacity source code is not needed.

    Posted 05/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    [Update] The version of Audacity here on Sourceforge is an old version. For the current version of Audacity (free), please visit the official Audacity website. Great software, great project, and great to see that it is still evolving after all these years.

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensable.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    He is the best!! Very god!! ;)

    Posted 04/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    He is the one !

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very good product in my opinion never crashes. My pc is 4 years old and it has no problems dealing with it.No extra data left after use nor changed comands.The use of it is pretty easy.Its a great tool!

    Posted 04/21/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fine Editor, but the ''swelling'' Change/Temp-Files-Handling could be designed smarter ... ;o]

    Posted 04/12/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After testing it briefly a handful of times it left 19GB of temp files on my hard drive!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the tool I use for wave file processing. Very good.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Whether you use it for recording music tracks, or messing with raw data, it really delivers. Some random crashes here and there are not enough to stain its immense performance for me.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is good version, but has some bugs. I downloaded the latest perfect working version of the Audacity software here www.newaudacity2015.com. It works like a charm

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really Good

    Posted 02/07/2015
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks