antiX-Linux Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
14
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • garretthylltun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have an old Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook that I use as a backup/side-tool that struggles with just about any OS given to it. It's low spec and it's upgrade ability is severely limited. All versions of Windows after XP were too much for this computer. I spent months trying to find an OS that would suffice for this old computer. Even Lubuntu was too much. All other Linux distros aimed at older computers either simply would not work or required too much knowledge of Linux for a new or average user. I was about to give up completely on using this old computer when I decided one more time to give all the small distros another chance. How or why I overlooked antiX is beyond me, but I'm glad I took another run at this. antiX was easy enough to install and runs smoothly and quickly. iceWM is still a wee bit lacking, but they've added enough scripts and GUI windows for dealing with settings and the applications menu. Once you take care of settings, update the system and programs and install what you want/need, then it's smooth sailing from then on. I've got some old towers and desktops sitting in a closet that might now benefit from antiX.

    Posted 09/30/2015
  • masinick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    antiX has long been one of the finest distributions available. I say that for many reasons. Here are a few: it is reasonably easy to install (trivial for a veteran, reasonable for a novice), yet it extremely easy to customize to make it just the way you want it. You can run it live or you can install it. The forum is helpful and the people respond to feature requests. Of course, anticapitalista is an excellent distribution creator, who has created small to medium sized implementations with great success. I have used the Beta 3 version of antiX 15 plus nearly every version and build since 2006 and I can personally vouch for any of them and heartily recommend antiX!

    Posted 06/24/2015
  • phantasmaex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Me encanta Antix Linux, de lo mejor entre lo mejor que he probado. anticapitalista rules +10 Me interesa saber los requerimientos minimos de sistema, ya que no los encuentro en la página.

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • pikachu30009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hands down best OS for computers that only have 4gb of internal storage. It's 2014 and 98%+ of Linux distros do not fit on 4gb of internal storage so if you have a Asus EEE 4G then this OS is without a doubt the best option. Thanks to the creator(s) of this OS!.

    Posted 06/17/2014
  • anticapitalista
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    RE: antiX-13_386-full.iso is not x86. it's x86_64. It is. I have uploaded a newer antiX-13_386-full.iso that will remove that error notice. The original iso is just fine, it is the message that is wrong. anticapitalista

    Posted 06/07/2013
  • cr01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Surprisingly easy to install via USB - download the .iso, write it to a USB key with Rufus.exe under WinXP (or equivalent under Linux I guess), boot from USB and install from the running system to the hard drive. The install includes Gparted and Grub for repartitioning and dual-booting if required. Lightweight and quick, but wireless support could be improved (it takes a bit of sorting out).

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • ccmalls28
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful. Share a website with you , ( www.ccmalls.net/ ) Believe you will love it. We accept any form of payment.

    Posted 05/10/2013
  • basketballpro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful app.All Muslims must have this app. Many many salutes to the development team

    Posted 05/10/2013
  • ccmalls24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful. Share a website with you , ( www.ccmalls.net/ ) Believe you will love it. We accept any form of payment.

    Posted 05/08/2013
  • jonahbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • masonarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks antix-linux

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • davidramirezm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Linux guy since the 2.0 kernel ages... but for the first time getting a permanent install to serve needs of my family - found AntiX googling for a lite distro that would do a better job than WXP on a 6+ yr old box that somebody gave me. I'm astonished ! This box runs now a pair in speed with other much newer W-boxes, even better than mi iMac. My daughter became de-facto big fan of Linux after fearing the learning curve - of which was almost flat. Wifi, audio, video, all worked wi/o need to configure - just making Flash run took some extra steps. All swift, installation was easy, and the UI is clean, well organized and intuitive. Kudos for AntiX ! Will recommend to every one I see !

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • stuartadamson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install, powerful, light and flexible.

    Posted 12/01/2012
  • williamhansen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to install and use.

    Posted 09/17/2012