Alt-F Icon

beta

free alternative firmware for the DLink DNS-320/320L/321/323/325/327L

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
49
1
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Большое спасибо! Это решение намного лучше заводской версии прошивки! Было неплохо добавить возможность изменять тему.

    Posted 08/20/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gave new life to my DNS-325-A2. The stock firmware from D-Link was not that bad but some add-ons were poor, for example aMule add-on. With Alt-F everything works out-of-the-box, my files were preserved and there are a number of add-ons that look interesting. I installed the aMule add-on and it appears to work well, coupled with its corresponding front-end "aMuleGui". The ability to define some shortcuts is really useful for saving time for starting/stopping some services when needed. Keep up the excellent work. Thank you Aldo

    Posted 04/03/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you so much for this... allowed me to expand use of my DNS321 to larger drive sizes and has given it the ability to do self-backups. I just wish I could get the miniDLNA to work...

    Posted 02/15/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't figure out this thing at all. About as user-friendly as a sharpened stick. Can't even tell what its doing half the time or if it even properly supports my 4tb Seagates Vague error messages, endless demands to log in whenever I do anything...just a really rough bit of software. Using DNS-321 which from what I can see not that many people have..I can't even find any detailed reports from other owners. You'd need to be a Linux guru to get anywhere with this firmware, I think.

    Posted 12/09/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi I boughted NAS D-link DNS 320L, with one WD 3TB hdd, which I placed to slot 2. I have trouble with Alt-F-0.1RC4.1-DNS-320L-rev-A1A2A3 (1).bin. I connected to NAS and upgraded firmware. Then restart and then start my trouble. All diods ( for USB, DISK1 and DISK2 ) glows red, and active slots ( in my case USB and DISK 2 ) glows blue at the same time. When I tried login to DNS,via administrator,nothing happend, my browser after some time writes that the page is unavailable. Can you help me solve this problem, at least return to the original state. Thank you very much for your help.

    Posted 10/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good alt firmware

    Posted 10/11/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's a very good and stable project if you follow the installation guide step by step, it's fairly simple to setup all the necessary config before you will enjoy a brand new budget gigabit DNS with up to 3 HDD support. the speed before and after switch to Alt-F is about 4~6x speed jump... max out about 30-40MB/s =240~320Mbits.. over a gigabit lan. which is very good.. i would assume using ssd hdd will achieve higher speed.. though may also be capped by the DNS hardware itself (ram, cpu etc..) learn to use ssh commands to access the driver and you will also be able to transfer files to usb3 drives very quickly.. compared to over the gigabit lan.. wonder if there is a app that will allow testing of file transfer speed on alt-f? think there is.. just need to search a bit i guess

    Posted 10/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was about to scrap both my DLINK DNS-321 machines due to insufficient capacity. Thanks to the Alt-F project I can now drop in multiple 3TB or 4TB drives and extend their life. Interface is perfect and minimal. Speed is very good if not better than original DLINK firmware. Ease of install - Just Upload new firmware! In my case the hardware was A2. Worth following instructions. 15 minutes setup start to finish. A very useful project, and great service. THANK YOU ALT-F!

    Posted 09/16/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool! Works much better than the original FW. God job! EDIT: My nas: DNS-325

    Posted 09/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect, Is the best firmware for DNS 323, now my Nas is like a new. Thanks¡¡¡¡¡

    Posted 07/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely brilliant! I'd had my DNS-320L just a week before I became frustrated with the lack of functionality and the clunky UI. After a bit of searching I discovered Alt-F and it's transformed my budget NAS into a very useful little unit - not to mention how much snappier and responsive the UI is compared to the D-Link firmware. In no time I had it up and running with NZBGet, Sickbeard and Couch Potato and I can SSH to it from anywhere to see what it's up to. It's not necessary but I copied all my data off the existing disk first and let Alt-F format it before copying it back. The partitioning seems a lot tidier under Alt-F and the orange lights which were permanently illuminated are now showing the correct state. Awesome project - thank you!

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really !!!! Your a god, man !!! It's the best project i(ve ever seen my life ! Thxs a lot for all your works !!!! Thxs again !!!!

    Posted 06/22/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gives us full control over the NAS. Many additional applications can be run.

    Posted 06/13/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More usefull and secure alternative to official firmware for DNS NAS

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DNS-325`s resurrection

    Posted 05/25/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    New life for ma DNS-323 box!

    Posted 04/01/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply excellent!

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project !!

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply excellent!

    Posted 01/24/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great project. The 0.1 release is infinitely better than the factory's own. I was quite close to discarding my DNS-321, because even the latest factory firmware was never stable. Thanks to Alt-F (and all those who contribute to it), the box has a new lease on life.

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After "updating" to the latest and what seems like the final firmware from DLink (after years of not upgrading), all manners of problems resembling a first beta software occured. Can't say that isn't typical of DLink. Loved the hardware, always tortured by DLink's horrible software and support. In my search for solutions, I came upon mentions of Alt-F. A quick search and a few wiki entries later, it seems like a low risk solution to try: easy to install, easy to revert. So I downloaded and installed. At the moment of boot, the light turned purple instead of the jarring blue. I know this is something that's done with attention to detail (and how did they do that?). I'm only minutes into using the firmware, and already it's a breath of fresh air! Faster UI, faster transfers, no hiccups (yet, even being beta). I can finally finish my RAID setup, which kept on getting stuck and lose networking (crashed? who knows) with Dlink's own 1.10. Moving on to more important things, like actually backing up to the drive and feeling safer about it than DLink's own firmware. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! For delivering us from the clutches of DLink's incompetence. Please keep this going. The DNS323 maybe an oldie, but it sure has a lot of life left in it, especially after Alt-F.

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply awesome..............., really excited to know about this project.!! nJoy !!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Folks : a warm thank you to João Cardoso for this initiative. I have a DNS-320L-rev-A1 box and I upgraded yesterday from 0.1RC4 to experimental 0.1RC4.1.1 and the result is simply extra. It works fine (follow the readme) and fix all kind of troubles (fan cooler, shutdown ...) I was facing since July 14 with 0.1RC4. The best alternative if you want to go beyond poor D-Link original features Thanks again and happy new year 2015

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been trying out Alt-F 0.1RC4.1.1 on a new D-Link DNS-320 rev B2 box. Very impressed with it. Look forward to being able to use my NAS boxes in the ways I want, not just in the way D-Link thinks I should use them.

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is it possible to have 2 or 3 different HDs for the RAID-5 option? (one is USB-HDD, 2 others are internal). or it only works with the same 3 HDs?

    Posted 12/11/2014
Show next 25 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks