xslt-process install/usage problem

Help
sean oc
2001-05-03
2001-05-10
  • sean oc

sean oc - 2001-05-03

Hello,
    I am a poor xemacs newbie, trying to read through the steps for using xslt-process. I have probably done several silly things, I feel I am close.

My immediate problem is the following error message when I try to load an xml file:
    File mode specification error: (file-error "Cannot open load file" "gud" )

So, I am assuming gud is in the Elib package, which I believe is installed. In my troubleshooting, I uninstalled the xemacs (21.1?) rpm which came with Redhat 7.1 and tried to install 21.4.x). I succeded in getting the package tools to work, so I can get a list of packages, resolve their dependancies, and install the needed files. I did this with xslt-process, getting many addition (and expected) packages for the dependancies, and did the install.

I think there were some hitches along the way, but I'm 80% confident xslt-process installed fine. I can see the menu options for sgml modify move dtd, and they seem to work ok. Of course that is probably just the sgml mode in place, not actually the xslt mode. When I try C-c C-x C-v I get C-c C-x not defined.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for what to look for next? I do have another install of Redhat 7.1 with the original XEmacs 21.2 install to test against if that helps. I also have the sumo package, with everything, but I missed something about how to install that, as untarring it in the /usr/local/lib/xemacs/xemacs-packages dir did not help.
    TIA

Sean

• Ovidiu Predescu

Ovidiu Predescu - 2001-05-03

You need to follow the instructions described in the XSLT-process manual, section 3.2, "Setting up PSGML with XSLT-process".