Idea, help, additions etc.

phunkyfish
2007-08-17
2013-02-12
  • phunkyfish

phunkyfish - 2007-08-17

Hi,

First of all I'd just like to say this is a great piece of software!

I had been toying with the idea of creating my own movie manager when I came across your software. The functionality is great and I think you've already got a lot of what I was thinking of implementing. I'd like to write a servlet interface to your GUI, allowing you access your database remotely without needing your software, this would also allow other platforms including the xbox to access the database via http. This would only be for reading the database, no writes would take place. Then further down the line write an interface for XBMC (XBox Media Centre) and other platforms, a generic design would be best.

Of the features I wanted here are some that I think would benefit your software. If you have any feedback on any of the features that would be great. I am a Java programmer myself and would be happy to help out on the project. It has been some time since I have used Java for GUI's, most recently I have been using servlets but my main focus has been algorithms and optimisation.

I hope I'm posting this in the correct forum!

1) When adding multiple movies, to do so only by directory, have the option to only lookup movies where an "imdb.xml" exists in a directory. This file would contain, the name of the movie, the year, the imdb ID and the video files in question.

Example:

One directory could contain:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <IMDBMovieDetails>
       <IMDBMovie title="My First Movie">
          <SimpleInfo>
             <date>2000</date>
             <imdbID>tt0012324</imdbID>
             <files>
                <file>my.first.movie.cd1.avi</file>
                <file>my.first.movie.cd2.avi</file>
             </files>
          </SimpleInfo>
       </IMDBMovie>
    </IMDBMovieDetails>

And in another:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>