web based config?

2007-04-15
2013-05-03
  • Jim Basilio

Jim Basilio - 2007-04-15

Hi,

I recently stumbled upon this program and it seems to be the only one out there of its kind (for free).

I do have some questions ..

1) why a web config?  This doesn't seem to persist between startup/shutdown?  Is this something that the author is open to change to a config with maybe even a basic UI?  I'm willing to attempt to do this .. just wanted to know the rationale.

2) It seems like the meat of the UPnP server is in cybergarage software.  What is this history of this?  Was it another open piece of software that was copied in?  Does "MS" UPnP for the 360 differ from standards based UPnP?  The reason I ask is that other UPnP programs don't seem to work right .. and I wondered what secret sauce was in x360mediaserve.

I'd like to start committing patches where possible .. I'm still getting my feet wet with the code and eclipse.  I used to be a pretty proficient java programmer before I switched over to .net .. so it's taking me some time to reacquaint with the tools.  But so far I'm stoked that there is a linux alternative to WMP on windows!

• Thomas Walker

Thomas Walker - 2007-04-16

Hi

1) The reason behind a web config is that I wanted to run it on a headless server. Unfortunately the current one was a temporary hack that just seems to have stuck since it worked ok for me. I intended to replace it with a fancy AJAX web gui but I haven't had the time. I'm definitely open to the idea of some other sort of gui as well since it would be better for a lot of users. This should be easier in the newer versions in CVS since it originally ran as a servlet inside the Jetty http server but now it has jetty embedded within it so having stuff like a Swing/SWT gui should be easier.

What do you mean when you say the config doesn't persist?