A couple of questions on build wxD

wxD
Sam H__
2009-06-15
2013-05-22
  • Sam H__

Sam H__ - 2009-06-15

Hello Sirs and Madams,

Although I am new to C++ but I used wxWdigets for C++ for more than one year.Now I would like to use wxD.But before compiling work starts,I would like to make sure everything is ready to go.Here is my question:

1.Is wx2.6.4 is a must to have? In my pc,I already have a copy of wx2.8.9 installed with mingw3.4.5.Should I download and compile the wx2.6.4 anyway?
    2.Is dmc the only choice to build wxc? As #1 mentioned,I have mingw3.4.5 installed.Should I use dmc to compile anyway?
    3.For D1 and D2,which dmd the latest version wxD14 support?For D1 with Tango,is Tango0.998 supported?
    4.Can I just simply use the pre-compiled libs (wx2.8.7 wxc and wxd) to start?

It would be grateful if anyone could lend me a hand on this.

Best Regards,
    Sam

• Anders F Björklund

1. You should be able to use wx 2.8.9 (or 2.8.10), just that it was originally written for 2.6.4 and some of the API/code reflects this... If you have mingw wxWidgets, use that.
      2. MinGW is actually preferred over DMC, just that they were bundled up like: DMC/DMD and GCC/GDC instead of mixing and matching the compiler vendors.
      3. It should build with the latest versions of DMD and Tango, with some caveats for D2 which is ever-changing and might not be supported. But D1 should work just fine.
      4. You can do that, but if you have MinGW already it's probably easier/better to just build your own. It's supposed to be like "make", maybe you'll need some options.

But start with "make COMPILER=DMD LIBRARY=Tango all samp", and see what you get ? That should use your already installed MinGW g++ and wx to build the libraries.

• Sam H__

Sam H__ - 2009-06-15

But start with "make COMPILER=DMD LIBRARY=Tango all samp", and see what you get ? That should use your already installed MinGW g++ and wx to build the libraries.
      --compiler error: