Menu

Issues when building with MSVC and /permissive-

Xiang Fan
2017-05-05
2019-07-15
  • Xiang Fan

Xiang Fan - 2017-05-05

Hi,
    I’m a developer in Visual C++ compiler team. We are currently doing daily RWC (Read World Code) testing. Some of the libraries we test use WTL.
    We are also working with internal partners and the community to fix source issues exposed by /permissive-.
    The option isn’t finalized yet (we plan to add some large impact features into it in the incoming VS update), so we don’t suggest community to adopt it yet.
    In the meantime, we want to address these source issues as early as possible so that the community can adopt it when it is finalized.
    We discover some source issues when we build WTL with /permissive-.

For example, in 'atldlgs.h', there are three places which call method from a dependent base and this is not allowed by C++ standard and MSVC enforces the requirement under /permissive-:

One possible fix is to prefix these base methods with 'this->':

Issue 1:
    LRESULT lRet = DefWindowProc(uMsg, wParam, lParam);
    ->
    LRESULT lRet = this->DefWindowProc(uMsg, wParam, lParam);

Issue 2:
    ((m_psh.dwFlags & PSH_MODELESS) != 0) && (GetActivePage() == NULL))
    DestroyWindow();
    ->
    ((m_psh.dwFlags & PSH_MODELESS) != 0) && (this->GetActivePage() == NULL))
    this->DestroyWindow();

What is the best way to get these issues fixed?

Thanks!

• Xiang Fan

Xiang Fan - 2017-05-05

There are lots of errors :-) You can see them by adding compiler flags '/permissive- /Zc:strictStrings-' to the projects in 'Sample' folder (Right click on the project, choose 'Properties', it is in 'Property Pages - Configuration Properties - C/C++ - Command Line - Additional Options'.

Here is the blog post for '/permissive-'.

• Nenad Stefanovic

This will require a very large number of changes to the WTL code. Because of that, the changes will not be applied to the WTL 9.1 code, but to the next version of WTL.

Thanks,
    Nenad