Menu

Only 0.7.5 Works

Help
markb
2011-05-20
2013-01-27
  • markb

markb - 2011-05-20

Hi, I'm pretty new to Linux and am experimenting migrating to it if I can get my audio apps working. I'm running the Windows version of Renoise under Wine 1.3.20  with Ubuntu 11.04 and jackd 1.9.7.
    I have tried the different versions of winasio with the following results:

0.9 .0 - Hangs when I select asio in Renoise. Have to kill it to stop.
    0.8.1 - Accepts asio but the sound is totally distorted (like hard clipping) I can't find anywhere to adjust the volume as my USB soundcard does not have any controls in  alsamixer.
    0.7.5 - works fine, audio plays normally.

Any suggestions?  Thanks

• Joakim Hernberg

Joakim Hernberg - 2011-05-20

I'd suggest trying with JACK1, as lately I've gotten some bug reports regarding JACK2 and winasio. JACK1 should work equally well or maybe even better and might even offer lower latency than JACK2.

Am trying to figure out what is wrong but don't have much time at the moment.  I downloaded the demo of renoise, but unfortunately it doesn't allow me to select the ASIO driver.  Have contaced the devs to ask for a test copy.

• Joakim Hernberg

FWIW, I just got a nfr copy of renoise and am running it with wineasio 0.9.0 and jack1.  I did have to add "#define ASIOST32INT 1" to the top of asio.c to force it to use 32bit Int instead of Float.  Probably the reason that it is distorted, but I have never looked at the 0.8.1 source code, so don't know if that is the problem.  I have also found out lately that there are problems between wineasio and jack2 at lower buffersizes.  If you need to use jack2 try setting a buffersize of 1024 or higher.

• markb

markb - 2011-05-20