Menu

connection problems

Help
2004-06-26
2004-06-28
  • leisurebeing

leisurebeing - 2004-06-26

i'm another one whos trying to connect through a router and on dsl.  i read all the other threads about this an tried everything i can think of but it still does not connect.  (i'm not REALLY computer savvy, but i'm ok.)  i'd just like someone to compile a diffinitive guide for users with routers/dsl.  i'm on a linksys router by the way.

• jon

jon - 2004-06-26

Read the documentation its in there.
      On the next document rev I may add a section for quick router configuring.

JH

• leisurebeing

leisurebeing - 2004-06-27

ok, i understand that i have to open port 1337 on my router for WASTE to connect, but i do not know how to do that.  i have no software installed that allows me to do that on my router.  also, do i need a DNS if i have the router, or do i use the router's IP address.

sorry for the stupid questions, i'm new at this.

• jon

jon - 2004-06-27

These are not stupid questions.
          Having a "DNS address" like "myownaddress.dydns.net" will make things easier for you and everyone that is on your network.
          If you don't use such a service than you will need to contact your friend with your new ip every time it changes and the same goes for your friend.

Opening port 1337 on your router is only half of the job, I will post a few clips from the waste guide for you that will help.
          First you will need to find the manual that your router came with or go to the manufactures website and download the manual for your model of router.

Basically you are going to have to do a port forward to your internal ip (I.E. your fake ip inside your network).
          I wish I could be more help but each router brand has its own interface for configuring its settings (that and you will never learn anything if I show you every step :)

JH

Port 1337 huh?