SourceForge has been redesigned. Learn more.
Close

How can I make generic toplevels with vtcl ?

Help
Jibal
2007-02-09
2013-05-08
  • Jibal

Jibal - 2007-02-09

Hi,
    I'm currently making a GUI on top of an old DOS command line application.
    I'm new to Tcl/Tk and I'm a bit lost now:

I have a list of items on a listbox. when I select an Item and click on the "Browse" button, another toplevel pops showing details of the item selected.
    But I would like to be able to select more than one item and show all the details toplevels for each item at the same time.
    I don't know how to do that as the detail toplevel I made with vTcl is "named" (.top110) and I can't open several instances of .top110 with differents details.
    So, what is the trick to make some "generic" toplevel like those I need ?

Thanks in advance.

• Nuno João

Nuno João - 2007-02-09

Well, I'm no expert, but I think this is the way to do it:

vTcl creates a command Window, with the following signature:

Window <cmd> <toplevel-name> <newname> <....

With this proc you can "draw" the contents of your .top110 toplevel inside any other toplevel (in fact, inside any other "container widget", like a frame).
      So you need to invoke

Window show .top110 .newTop

which will create a new toplevel for you with the same GUI.
      You can call as many times as you want, just changing the <newname>.

Cheers!

• Jibal

Jibal - 2007-02-09

Thanks for the help.

But the problem is also that I've set text var for each of my entries/spinboxes in .top110 and these are no more recognized if I rename the toplevel...8-(

Perhaps some more clarifications about what I'm trying to do:

The items which are on my listbox are employees. I have 4 buttons aside this listbox:
      Delete employee,
      Browse employee,
      Modify employee,
      Add employee.