Faking quad buffers for 3D TV

Help
2012-06-08
2013-11-26
  • Philip Ashmore

Philip Ashmore - 2012-06-08

Hi there.
    Has anyone tried creating an interlaced(left/right) 2D output by faking/simulating quad buffer support?
    For a 3D HD TV, each buffer would be 1920×540, so the client program would request a stereo visual with this size.
    The other alternative is above/below instead of interlacing, which would simplify reading back raster output.
    I'm not an OpenGL expert by any means, but I've seen e.g. stereoquake, a mod for Quake3/ioquake3 which can do side-by side stereo 3D.

• DRC

DRC - 2012-06-08

I don't think anyone has tried this, but it seem straightforward enough.  Can you find some source code demonstrating, for instance, how to draw a simple stereo image to such a device?  I presume it would have to be done using OpenGL?  If so, then it seems odd that the client program would have to have explicit knowledge of the device's capabilities, as OpenGL is generally supposed to abstract that.

• Philip Ashmore

It really is as simple as I'm saying.
    Given any input, the TV can
    * do 2D to 3D conversion (results vary widely)
    * convert 2D interlaced input (left row, right row, left row,…) to 3D
       This halves the vertical resolution so the client program needs to correct the aspect ratio for this.
    * convert 2D "side by side" to 3D
       This halves the horizontal resolution so the client program needs to correct the aspect ratio for this.
    * convert 2D "top/bottom" to 3D
       This halves the vertical resolution so the client program needs to correct the aspect ratio for this.
    * convert checkbox 2D to 3D

If you go to YouTube, you can filter 3D videos with yt3d:enable=true
    When YouTube detects this tag it adds a "3D" button that allows you to choose several ways to view the video
    Here are some examples

YouTube in 3D: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ANcspdYh_U&feature=plcp