Artifacts when rendering H.264 encoded RTSP stream with VPP's RTSP source filter

onkel_keks
2013-04-25
2013-05-02
  •  onkel_keks

onkel_keks - 2013-04-25

Hello,
    first of all, thank you for your work, it is of great help. I have a project where I want to receive video from a webcam that transmits a H.264 encoded stream over RTSP and write the decoded pixel data into a buffer for further processing. (Audio support is supposed to follow, but that's a problem for later). Disclaimer: I am rather new to DirectShow.

So far, I've managed to use your RTSP filter for receiving the H.264 stream and can play it in GraphEdit (I had to force UDP instead of TCP but I am getting a picture). The problem now is that the picture is flawed; there are many artifacts and large, depending on the decoder used either green or black areas. When I use VLC to view the very same stream, the picture is flawless. I know that it's not the fault of the decoder, since I have tried with both the DivX H.264 and the built-in decoder from Microsoft.
    Any hints as to what could be wrong here?

P.S.: I'm not sure if it's a bug or I did something wrong, but in RtspSourceFilter::stopLiveMediaSession() you have this line:

DWORD result = WaitForSingleObject(m_hLiveMediaStopEvent, INFINITE);

which causes GraphEdit to hang indefinitely when closing the session, or when no session was ever created.

P.P.S.: Sorry, this should have been in the "Help" section.

Last edit: onkel_keks 2013-04-25
  • Ralf Globisch

Ralf Globisch - 2013-04-25

Hi,

Firstly, let me just say that the filter was just intended as a sample showing how to combine the live555 with DirectShow. I primarily tested it with audio and added support for the H.264 video format afterwards. The H.264 was only briefly tested using live555 RTSP server and .264 test videos.