unable to play the received h.264 encoded video stream from an IP camera via RTSP

Sowmya
2013-08-06
2013-08-13
  • Sowmya

Sowmya - 2013-08-06

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to Directshow and trying to implement H.264 video support for our product. Currently our product supports MJPEG video reception.

I'm trying to receive video from an IP camera that transmits H.264 encoded stream over RTSP and I'm using your RTSPSourceFilter for receiving it and then feed it to the Microsoft Video DTV-DVD Video decoder or the built in IP camera H.264 Video decoder for playback.

Not sure what is going wrong, but all I get is a black screen in the video playback in Graphstudio.
    1. When connected to Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder - No frames are being delivered when I right click on the properties of the Video Renderer
    2. When connected to IP camera H.264 Video Decoder - Frames are being delivered but still it is a black screen with no video.

But I can use VLC player to connect to the IP camera url and play video successfully.

During SDP exchange, I get this line from the IP camera
    a=fmtp:96 packetization-mode=1; profile-level-id=420029; sprop-parameter-sets=Z0IAKeKQFAe2AtwEBAaQeJEV,aM48gA==

So I know that SPS and PPS parameters need to be sent to the decoder.
    1) But I'm not sure how to feed SPS and PPS to the decoder?
    2) what should the mediasubtype be set to?
    3) Any other things that need to be looked into for successful playback.

Any examples of setting mediatype properties and sending SPS and PPS values to decoder will be of great help.

Many thanks
    Sowmya

• Ralf Globisch

Ralf Globisch - 2013-08-06

Hi Sowmya,

As far as I remember the filter was configured with the DS media type where the MS decoder expects the SPS and PPS in-band. See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd757808%28VS.90%29.aspx. The width and height settings in the filter code don't matter.